We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Luca

Cafe Luca
Ranked #237 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Luca is a table service licensed cafe,with 70 covers.Serving everything from allday breakfasts ,sandwiches/toasties,soups,main meals,salads,and snacks.With both vegetarian and gluten free options available.Everything is made to order and made on the premesis,including the cakes and sweet treats.A childrens menu is also available and with plenty of room for pushchairs.With an extensive range of drinks including,teas,coffees,soft drinks including the fentimans range and luxury milkshakes made with Yorvale ice cream.We now have a small al fresco area at the front of the cafe,for sunny days, people with dogs or those wanting to smoke.
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

No fault to be found! Brilliant service, amazing breakfast and great quality. My food came piping hot and delicious. Definatly my number one choice for a full english and the atmosphere was cosy and warm.

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    77
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault the place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I expected the hot milk to come separately from the filter coffee I ordered, but it wasn't a problem that it arrived already in the cup....it was spot-on anyway. It was nice to be offered hot milk, as the usual choice elsewhere is normally cream or cold milk. The small homemade shortbread biscuit in the saucer was a nice touch. I had the carrot cake with cream cheese frosting which was delicious too, and not over-sweet as many are.
The service was quick (time was just before 11am on a Bank Holiday Sunday!) and pleasant. Next time I hope to go with enough appetite for breakfast as I espied delicious looking food at the next table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the waitresses are not consenteated at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

i visited this place after my erly morning train trip to york craving for some warm breakfast. i ordered the veggie breakast, the waitress did not ask me how i wanted my eggs, thy just served it fried(i was too tired to think of that), the fried mushroom and tomatoes were awfully fried, i just left it, then i asked for more bread and they just brought untoasted slices with butter. i was too tired tonmake a fuss. poor experience. also, i had to change three tables in order not to be hit bu the ventilation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazchlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbobYork, Owner at Cafe Luca, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Kazchlo,Thanks for taking time to write a review.Although it doesn't make a great deal of sense,not sure what word you were meaning by consenteated? When you complain about the eggs coming fried on your breakfast,i am sorry that is not how you wanted them,but that is how it is described on our menu? if you wanted scrambled you could have asked for them scrambled? and if you ask for bread thats what you get,if you want toast,then ask for toast? maybe you were half asleep when you wrote this review?also when you mention ventilation i am not sure what you mean other than the door? as we unfortunately don't have air conditioning.regards James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Came here for breakfast as soon as we arrived in York, place was a bit quiet and staff seemed quite dull but the food was good, not too overpriced. I'm assuming the atmosphere gets better throughout the day as we ate at 10.30am!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilyecoates91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food in and around York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went in here today for a meal, pleasantly surprised, didn't look to big a place but it was, the atmosphere was pleasant, nobody shut up when you walked in, that's always a good sign, ordering was hassle free, you were given time to study the menu, the staff were very pleasant, nothing was too much trouble, I always ask for some extra milk to cool my coffee as I can't drink it hot, got ample milk, you don't always get that in other places, the meal was nice, although if I had to pick one fault it was a tad expensive for what you got, but then again it is York, but all in all I would visit again for another meal, well worth going in for a meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luca also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing