We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Luca

Cafe Luca
Ranked #198 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Luca is a table service licensed cafe,with 70 covers.Serving everything from allday breakfasts ,sandwiches/toasties,soups,main meals,salads,and snacks.With both vegetarian and gluten free options available.Everything is made to order and made on the premesis,including the cakes and sweet treats.A childrens menu is also available and with plenty of room for pushchairs.With an extensive range of drinks including,teas,coffees,soft drinks including the fentimans range and luxury milkshakes made with Yorvale ice cream.We now have a small al fresco area at the front of the cafe,for sunny days, people with dogs or those wanting to smoke.
2 reviews
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful food, quick service. Sausages were amazing just all round great.worth finding and taking a table for good food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    77
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Normally you can tell a place is very good by the amount of people inside, well this place is no exception to that rule as it was quite busy when we visited.

I had the full English breakfast that was very nice, the gourmet sausages made it stand out from normal breakfasts. Quality ingredients will get you good reviews in my opinion.

Service was great and fast very friendly.

The only part I didn't like about my experience was that they give you the bill when they deliver the food to your table, it seemed it was in a way to hurry you out of the establishment to get the next customers inside and put me off ordering a second drink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty_G60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting york one night and came by this cafe for a quick lunch it's a big place and decorated lovely sadly there weren't many people about it being a Tuesday but we still had a nice lunch hot chocolate and coffee were nice and hot! I had a lovely nicely done fish finger sandwidge! But we also had cheesy chips and a few werent fully cooked through neither less to say it was a great place and the staff were polite and friendly!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible breakfasr”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Quick service, but food was not good at all. Ordered cooked-through egg but all they did was fry it on bith sides. Very cozy place, but will not recommend the breakfast.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Htgsrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbobYork, Owner at Cafe Luca, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Htgsrd,firstly may i say how upset i am by your clearly delusional and fake review.You have obviously taken time to become a member of tripadvisor and write your 1st and no doubt only review about the breakfast you claim to have had at Cafe Luca,although your spelling mistakes tell me you didn't take any time so i find it to be a very suspicious review.We cook our eggs to order, unlike some places where it is kept warm under heat lamps,if you asked for your fried egg cooked-through i'm not sure how else you wanted 1 of our fully trained chefs to cook it other than turning the egg and frying it on both sides.I have spoken to both chefs that worked the weekend and neither of them had a order for the egg cooked through and we never had any complaint about any breakfasts so i can only presume this review to be fake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Prompt, cheerful service and great food - a perfect place for lunch! We visited on a busy Sunday but service was still very quick and the food was excellent. I would recommend Cafe Luca for either a quick refuelling lunch stop on a cold day, or for a hearty meal later in the afternoon. The locally sourced sausages were superb and the toasted sandwiches were well filled with tasty ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank arwharf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luca also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing