We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch menu”

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bennett's Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 870 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Lunch menu”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were desperate for a cup of tea after just arriving in the city centre and Bennett's was right outside the Minster, so it seemed a good place to sit and enjoy a brew whilst we decided where to go first.
The staff were polite, helpful and very attentive even to opening the door as you went inside. The Yorkshire tea was wonderful and we had a snack to go with it, a toasted tea cake and a slice of cake.
Bennett's is small but perfectly formed. We went there twice during our stay and would have tried the evening menu but didn't get chance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CWilliams236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    176
    32
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent early mothers day present”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was taken to Bennett'ss last night as an early mothers day present and we had a fantastic time . The staff were friendly and attentive , the food was excellent, superb quality and freshly made and the general feeling was relaxed and welcoming. We all had different meals one of which was vegetarian all were superb. The service was just right and the wine was also very good. Lovely place I would recommend to anyone. Will definitely be back .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delicious meal!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We were able to walk in on a Friday night and just got a table before it filled up. We ordered starters, mains and dessert and all offered was very tasty and appropriately sized. The mussels were almost a mains size! Yum! Service was quick and everything tasted very fresh and professionally made. Would go back next time we visit York.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Charming little cafe style bistro were we had a lovely lunch, the staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble even catering for our granddaughter we will definitely return on our next visit to York.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imogen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful breakfast”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My friend and I recently went here for some breakfast and really enjoyed it! The cafe is in an excellent location (right next to Yorkminster) and the service is outstanding. The owners of this cafe should be very proud of how nice their staff are!

The food and tea was great too. I had scrambled egg on toast and it was very filling! All of our food was reasonably priced. I'd definitely go back again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teacakeblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing