We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we visited again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennett's Cafe & Bistro

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bennett's Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So good we visited again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our second visit to Bennett's Cafe during a busy day shopping and site seeing and we were not disappointed. The service was good and the waiter friendly, our food arrived quickly and was really nice. We had stopped for a light lunch and the soup and sandwiches we ordered were very tasty, I would recommend the carrot cake.

Great place to stop for lunch overlooking the minster and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickandlisa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    173
    30
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hannah90
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Are here on a busy Sunday lunch time. Small snacks and refreshments were available and the cakes looked amazing! Service was fast and efficient and food was served quickly and tasted excellent. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best view in York when taking refreshment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a find! Just popped in here to have a coffee and wait for friends to join us early on a wet Saturday - we quickly decided on a second breakfast (so not needed, but too tempting) and the restaurant staff accommodated our growing party when they arrived. The view of the Minster was perfect and we watched many cyclists arriving on the Way of the Roses Coast 2 Coast. Our plan was to take tea and scones at another York establishment in the afternoon but after seeing the prices and queues (and no view) we returned to Bennett's to receive a warm welcome and delicious scones/jam/cream, Tiffin, carrot cake and an array of exotic teas. The husbands arrived on bikes around 5.15pm and the staff would have stayed open for a while but the men were in search of beer as their reward!
Highly recommend this tea room for view, customer service and delicious fare.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great tea, fantastic scones and very friendly staff. Can recommend Bennetts after weekend in York supporting our husbands and friends cycling the coast2coast. Had to return for tea and scones after sampling the fare earlier for morning coffee!
Carrot cake looked good too!
Great view of the Minster as a bonus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Lovely Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This central cafe offers fresh produce and friendly service. The prices are very reasonable, especially given that the cafe is so very central. We really enjoyed our morning coffee and scones here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing