We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bennett's Cafe & Bistro

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bennett's Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great tea, fantastic scones and very friendly staff. Can recommend Bennetts after weekend in York supporting our husbands and friends cycling the coast2coast. Had to return for tea and scones after sampling the fare earlier for morning coffee!
Carrot cake looked good too!
Great view of the Minster as a bonus.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    173
    30
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Lovely Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This central cafe offers fresh produce and friendly service. The prices are very reasonable, especially given that the cafe is so very central. We really enjoyed our morning coffee and scones here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

After walking round York on a bright,sunny but very cold day, we ended up at York Minster and then saw this cafe. We needed to have some hot drinks and snacks to get warm.
I had a really nice toasted teacake and grand cup of Yorkshire Tea. The others in our party had cappucino's, espresso's and bacon sandwich.The service was good and we had a nice view of the Minster. The toilets were clean and smelt fresh. Hand cream was provided as well as hand wash (I really like extra touches like this).
We were a large family group with visitors from Switzerland and Italy. Probably quite noisy in a friendly and excited way but no-one seemed to mind.
When a man(owner?) came over to collect dishes my Italian aunt said 'Grazie' and he replied 'Prego'. I was so chuffed at this as I have been in some cafe's where they have almost bordered on being rude.
I have recommended this cafe to others visiting York. I will definitely come to this cafe again on my next visit to York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CracklinRosie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visited York last week and went to Bennett's for a spot of afternoon tea after our tour of the Minster, and were very glad to have found it! We had wonderful home made scones with jam and clotted cream, and I hate to admit it, but they were even better than the scones I bake myself! The coffee was also particularly good, and my daughter thought her raspberry tart was delicious! The cafe has a fantastic view of the Minster, a lovely atmosphere, and the service was, in general, excellent. The only negative comment I could make about our visit is that, when we came to pay, the lady tried to charge us twice as much for the bill of another table! It was an honest mistake though, and another member of staff quickly sorted it out. In fairness, I think she was a new member of staff and didn't quite know her way around yet. Despite this, we would definitely return to Bennett's and recommend it to our friends. A simple but lovely menu and a delightful location!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMMcAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great little place to return to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We first visited Benett's Cafe in 2012 and were so impressed with the refreshments and service that when we visited York again in April 2013 we made a point of going back to Bennett's for lunch. The staff really make you feel welcome and the quality of the food and drink is first class. With what has to be the best view of the Minster in York, you'd be hard-pressed to find anywhere better for a morning coffee, a light lunch, or afternoon tea!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiziano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing