We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious home made food and great service!”

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bennett's Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
Guildford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious home made food and great service!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I visited York recently and went here for lunch after seeing the Minster. The cafe has an incredible view and is a lovely place for resting and people watching, we could have stayed all afternoon! I am a coeliac and was pleased to discover they have a few gluten free options - beautiful soup and a gorgeous chocolately tiffin. My husband had a piece of lemon drizzle cake which he said was delicious, and everything is home made! We were really impressed with how friendly and polite the staff were, and the service was very fast! We will definitely return here on our next trip to York.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyA675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    178
    34
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for people watching”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great views to the front of the Minster. Had breakfast there - we gave it a 6 or 7 as we had eaten breakfast the day before at the Concerto, which is diagonally across the road, where the food was more expensive, but worth it for the better quality. However, Bennett's is most likely the place for a drink and a snack

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alister S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great scones and very nice place!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wonderful scones here and a great cuppa, so treat yourself. A nice atmosphere and very friendly. And not overpriced like Betty's.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gericUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great scone with jam and cream, served by a lovely young man and not rushed at all. Would go there all the time if I lived near by!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardghf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty close to perfect”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I reckon this lovely cafe serves the best hot chocolate ever, it doesn't have all the fake squirty cream and marshmallows, its just a delicious creamy, not too sweet, yummy drink(and only £2.40). I had to return twice in one day to get my next fix. The cafe is popular with all ages, the homemade cakes and scones were very tasty too ( lemon drizzle, cream tea and carrot cake were tasted by my friends and I). The staff didn't mind that we pulled 2 tables together to make room for the 8 of us and were attentive and speedy. It's right next to the Minster and is a perfect meeting point. Can't fault the place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing