We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

Bennett's Cafe & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bennett's Cafe & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 887 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bennett's Cafe and Bistro is located right in the heart of York with incredible views of York Minster. Serving wonderful homemade cakes and scones daily, and delicious locally sourced evening meals from 5.30Pm Tuesday-Saturday, Bennett's has something to suit everyones tastes.
lowdham, notts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our first wedding anniversary trip and we chose York as there's lots to see and do. We avidly read reviews on trip advisor looking for top places to eat, Bennetts wasn't our first choice fir breakfast but it should have been! The cafe we initially wanted to go to rated first in the list but on walking by we decided that looking out onto a busy main road wasn't in keeping with our relaxed weekend. Having passed Bennetts on the way we headed back and were not disappointed. The large windows are great for watching the world go by and have a lovely view of the Minster. The service was excellent and very friendly and the food very very good. My other half had the big breakfast and rated it very highly, my crumpets were very tasty too. Glad we stopped in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyciejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    178
    34
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulceby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great cake with a great view.”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went to Bennett's Cafe after purchasing a Living Social Deal. The cafe is situated right across the road from the York Minster and therefore has lovely views.

We both enjoyed a very large piece of cake, one chocolate and one carrot. I would recommend them both but ensure you're hungry. The menu however seemed rather limited with mostly hot drinks and cake, the only savory options being a bacon sandwich and soup with a roll. It would have been nice to have been able to enjoy a sandwich along with our cakes but otherwise no complaints. The cafe is not very big so was quite full on our visit but the service was good and our order arrived quickly.

Certainly worth a visit as a break from the shopping!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickandlisa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful cafe next to Minster Cathedral”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My mom and I stumbled into Bennett's Cafe in search of a brew before heading back to our B&B after a busy day sight-seeing. We had cream tea the day before at Betty's and were looking for something a bit more casual. We were drawn to Bennett's because of the funny sign and the large windows that allow for excellent people watching and provide terrific views of the impressive Minster Cathedral. We were delighted to find that the service, tea and scones were excellent as well! While the experience and ambiance are not comparable, we thought the scones and service were better than Betty's!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, Affordable, and Delicious”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I enoyed an afternoon date at Bennett's and we were delighted with the lovely service and the delicious cakes and coffees. We were kindly greeted by the cafe's owner upon entering, and warmly welcomed to a table. From our window seats, we could see the gorgeous York Minster right outside, as well as the intersection containing beautiful shops and bustling York-goers and tourists. It was a charming place to eat, and we can't wait to enjoy another afternoon outing there. I highly, highly reccommend Bennett's.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Proper tea room with a great view.”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Called in for a coffee and cake as a break from shopping, we had a Living Social voucher for two cakes and two drinks for £5, what a bargain.

The cafe is well laid out, tables are of a good size and well spaced. From all tables the view through the front windows is of York Minster.

We had carrot cake (huge slices) and a lovely hot coffee. Staff were dressed smartly in black and white and personally greeted every customer at the door.

The voucher worked, we have found a really nice place to revive ourselves on our many visits to York and will be back. The prices are reasonable and the cakes delicious. Give it a try, Bennett's is easily found opposite the Minster.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabbie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Cafe & Bistro also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bennett's Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing