We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of York Terror Trail

York Terror Trail
Ranked #2 of 59 Tours in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: York Terror Trail, a history tour of the horrors of York.There is a monster, 1900 years old, thousands have died in its name. Like all the best masters of disguise it’s gone by many names: Eboracum, Eoforvic, Jorvic… today we just call it York. It has many weapons: battles, murders, terrible accidents and deliberate neglect. This city has two sides, the one it wants you to see and the one it doesn’t. It hides it down back streets and in the corner of your eye. We shouldn’t want to see it but we do. The terror trail can show it to you…The tour starts 6.45pm every night from York’s most haunted pub the Golden Fleece Inn.Adults: £5Children: £2
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a fantastic time, Damian was a great tour guide and had lots of excellent stories. Would definitely recommend it! And it finished with a pint, nice touch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    78
    8
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newchurch, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“my son and I”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a fantastic two hours, best fiver i ever did spend and a pint to finish off. Superb entertainment, great host, many thanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was part of a group of me and 11 friends who went on the tour and every one of us loved it! Entertaining as well as gruesome! The guide Damian kept the tour upbeat and amusing as well as telling us a load of interesting and chilling stories! If you want a ghost walk about stuff that likely never happens do not do this!! They can be fun too and thats great but this is things that actually happened and that are truly terrifying and quite different from the many Ghost Walks that go round the city! The tour makes it very clear it is NOT a Ghost Walk. But as I say my group had a great time even though it rained and was cold! and will recommend this to others and maybe even do it again myself!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-in-makerfield, UK
1 review
“a great start to the evening”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

this was a brilliant tour of York, revealing the true horror of its past. The tour was done at a quick pace, but still lasted about 90 minutes and involved a great deal of audience participation. My 2 kids (aged 12 and 10) really enjoyed the tour and the group was small enough so that everyone felt involved.
It starts at 6.45 outside the Golden Fleece pub at the bottom of the Shambles, and ends early enough to go and have a meal (La Tasca was our choice)
Our guide was Joseph and he was superb, not unlike Matt Smith according to my Dr Who obsessed son, very loud and very humourous, and a little bit eccentric.
Thoroughly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACW288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“York terror trail”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

this was a grate way to end our day in York. our guide Joseph took us on a trip round York and terrify us with tales not of ghosts but of real historical event form the city of York. well work the five pounds spent. so meet Joseph at the golden fleece for a spine chilling walk round the city 6:45 pm every night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garrysands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Terror Trail also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Terror Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing