We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bay Horse Inn”
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #108 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bay Horse Inn”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon. The rooms were lush, stylish and very comfortable. The owners were lovely and couldnt do enough for you. The breakfast we were served was fantastic, it was great to wake up to!
The hotel is situated on a busy main road, and while the traffic is constant it hardly caused us any disturbance.
Me and my husband intend to visit again very soon as it was an experience that will be hard beaten!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWilliams109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    55
    17
    15
    15
See reviews for
15
130
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

stayed at the bay horse, blossom street in york for the weekend on the 12th to the 14th october, i can highley recommend this place, the hospitality is second to none, the rooms wer lovely, a very good nights sleep. and as for the couple that run it, well they wer excellent, nothing was to much trouble... all in all i would deffinatley give it 100% no faults wot so ever........ will be going back next year for a week.....

Room Tip: all rooms are highley recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

These 3 night where EPIC!, The people are so nice, the food was good, the bed was awesome, and most of all me and the misses could come in when we wanted we got the keys from the backdoor so that was nice :)

If you ever wanne go to York , just make sure you sign up in this hotel ,
trust us you wont regret it :)

James & Sue , thanks for all your hospitality and all the fun we had, you guys make York a bit more special..

Much love and see you all soon.. Greets to all the guys ^^

Farid & Suzie( my little ALF)

Room Tip: Room number one is good, but that doesnt matter because all the rooms and beds are the same, i had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just spent Saturday night at the Bay Horse Inn for a friends birthday. We were greated at our car by James who helped take our belongings to the room. We had 3 rooms between us, all of which were in character with the building, clean and very comfortable. We each had a single bed which was great and very comfortable. There was plenty of room for us girls to get ready for a night round York which was about a five/ten minute walk, which was ideal. A good thing was that we had no time restrictions for coming back in as we had a key to get back into the building.
Breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it. There is also room at the back of the pub to park and James even let our friend park there who wasn't even staying there. He also let us park there Sunday so we could do some shopping.
If your wanting something modern then this probably isn't the place for you, but if you want somewhere with a great location that is clean, comfortable and very friendly then I highly recommend the Bay Horse inn.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kquinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just arrived home from staying at the Bay Horse with friends. We were immediately made to feel very welcome on arrival, James came out to carry our bags from the car to our rooms. The Rooms are of a high standard, very clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, the bathrooms are clean and of a high standard with lovely, clean fluffy towels. The beds are extremely comfortable, we all slept well!
The breakfast was delicious, we could not have been offered any more than we were, they even accomodated my vegetarian needs at short notice.
There is a car park at the rear of the pub, which is free of charge. The pub is situated within a ten minute wak of the city, which was very handy for us.
Very satisfied customers, will definately recommend to friends and family, and would stay again. What a lovely place to stay, with welcoming, friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a lovely friendly place to stay. We only had the one night there but were made a home immediately.James and Sue were so welcoming and even served us breakfast outside in the garden area as it was a glorious morning. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Have already recommended to people who are visiting York in a few weeks. Would certainly stay there again if we visit York

Room Tip: Well located just outside the main area but close enough to walk and see all the sight of York
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

From the minute we arrived until our departure two days later it was service with a smile. James & his lovely wife Sue run a smashing bed & breakfast which is full of character. From what I gather previous management were running a less than family friendly establishment however it's clear to see that this couple are fast turning The Bay Horse into a place where you would be more than happy to come with your family or as in my case, mother & teenage daughter. The rooms are well presented, clean & homely, lovely comfy bed, (slept like a log), TV & complimentary tea/coffee making facilities, huge bathroom with white fluffy towels (room 5), large mirror for us ladies and a hairdryer (one less thing to bring). It was particularly warm when we stayed & James went out especially to buy a fan for our room, what a gent! A well cooked full English breakfast served with a smile between 9 - 11am set us up for a fun day out in the beautiful city of York (my daughter was so pleased not to have to be down for brekkie at 8!!) I would highly recommend a stay in The Bay Horse, it's got all you need and more & is run by a lovely genuine family, 10/10!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
York Apart Hotel
York Apart Hotel
#19 of 51 in York
21 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Green Hammerton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 55 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional 17th-century pub and B&B is situated in the historic city of York. Just a stone's throw from the Micklegate Bar, we are in an ideal location for York City Centre. Our delightful and cosy pub and B&B is full of all the character you would expect from an old English establishment! We serve fabulous real ales, fine wines, spirits and bar snacks. 5 newly refurbished en-suite rooms are also available. A warm welcome from all the team at The Bay Horse awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing