We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Horse Inn... Fantastic Groupon Deal .. couldnt ask for more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #98 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
English
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bay Horse Inn... Fantastic Groupon Deal .. couldnt ask for more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed Saturday 16th March on a one night Groupon deal...
great location for the nightlife, rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, loads of room, clean and very comfy..
car-park at rear... beer garden for the smokers....
staff are really friendly and Walter the dog is just adorable !!
would highly recommend a stay here.. and we are looking forward to our next trip to York...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    53
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
121
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed for two nights on groupon deal,very helpful and friendly staff.Builing in need of a little T.L.C. but it is an old pub and its called character which appeals more than a plastic and soul less premier inn.location is great and would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the side of building and less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGNORM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for two nights , sun/ mon , seen all the others reviews and all the negative views are in my opinion rubbish , doesn't matter where you stay and at what cost you can nit pick and find faults all other the world . Kate is lovely and friendly and the pub is sorted , good location for everything. Would stay again and would recommend you to friends .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meddlesomeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a pleasant little pub run by the most helpfull people you could meet and you have got to meet the dog (I could have played all night).Dont judge a book by its cover the rooms are superb its an old building so bare in mind the ceilings are just touching under 7ft so tall people think a head (ha,ha). If the male of the party like their ales then your well at home .For walking to city centre its about 5mins and no hassle short distance the time delay is crossing the roads.This pub is under new management and they are doing a grand job are room was right above the main part of the pub and on the main road believe it was the largest room absolutly no problem with any noise from any areas and it was busy in the pub due to football on the tv.

Room Tip: Ask which room since all differant sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is very much a pub B&B, with a good traditional pub downstairs and nicely refurbished rooms upstairs. It’s handy at being only a quarter of a mile from the station and just over half a mile from the city centre (we could walk it in 10 minutes).

Our room was one of the largest and contained exposed wooden beams, a large bathroom, and a view out to the main street at the front. We did notice in passing that another room appeared much smaller so it’s always best to ask about room size when booking!

The room was tastefully furnished and very clean. I understand that the whole B&B area had been completely refurbished a couple of years ago.

The drawback with any pub B&B is that there is a fully active pub on the premises, and as with most pub B&Bs the bedrooms are often located immediately above the bar areas. This makes it noisy! So, if the pub doesn’t close until after midnight then you can expect to hear music and chatter until after midnight. We found the Bay Horse moderately noisy until about 30 minutes after last orders, but then it went very quiet. Even the main road outside seemed to stop by midnight and not cause us any nuisance. The upshot…. if you want a quite place then don’t choose a pub B&B; it’s as simple as that!

We had to leave early and so didn’t stop for breakfast and so cannot comment on that.

I notice that one reviewer commented on rowdy guests. All I can say is that we heard very little from the other guests. Just bear in mind that noisy guests can appear in any establishment and I’ve had it happen to me in the past at an up-market hotel. I personally would not judge an establishment over the selfish actions of a particular guest!

Overall, I got the impression of a well appointed and well run B&B. If you can accept the pub noise then give it a go!

Room Tip: Rooms seemed larger at the front although they overlooked a main road (though the road quietens down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc-at-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just returned from a two night valentine break with my wife,we stayed in room one which was basic but very clean and comfortable.On arrival we were greeted by Katie the manager who gave us a very warm welcome and this continued for all of our stay.The inn is a 15 minute slow walk into town with plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep if you dont want to walk far.We had a full English breakfast on both mornings which was very nice.We finished our evenings off in the bar with a couple of beers and the locals were very friendly.In summing up i would say warm and friendly York on the doorstep and a good pint.We will return.

Room Tip: Apparently room four does not have ensuite however it still has its own facility outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SidnDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Dont be fooled by the 'traditional' pub downstairs, the bedrooms are lovely. Spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Large en-suite bathrooms in 4 of the 5 rooms, tv and hospitality tray. It's a little noisy, but it is a pub on a main road so thats to be expected. Breakfast is adequate, not the best but certainly not the worst. Pleasant, helpful staff ab's great location for exploring York. Would we stay again.......yes we would.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwfcwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
York Apart Hotel
York Apart Hotel
#21 of 50 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#41 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 55 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional 17th-century pub and B&B is situated in the historic city of York. Just a stone's throw from the Micklegate Bar, we are in an ideal location for York City Centre. Our delightful and cosy pub and B&B is full of all the character you would expect from an old English establishment! We serve fabulous real ales, fine wines, spirits and bar snacks. 5 newly refurbished en-suite rooms are also available. A warm welcome from all the team at The Bay Horse awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing