We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken over by new owners Sept 2011- very noisy, awful”
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #138 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed October 2011 and had two double rooms-by coincidence the two shown in the photos. The rooms themselves were fine, nice bathrooms and old period fireplaces. The beds were not the comfiest but fine.

The big problem with this place is the noise-we fully expected some noise as it was a pub and on a main road. On Friday night the music was really loud and was still blaring out at 1.30am, despite the pub closing at 12am, and it was particularly bad in the front room (the one with the nice bath in the photo) but still very audible in the back bedroom too. In addition the owners dog sat and barked constantly (midnight to 1am) at the door, outside the guest rooms, up to the owners accommodation on the top level.

At 1.30am we went down to ask them to turn the music down, which they did. Saturday morning we mentioned the dog and the noise to the lady who owned it;she had a very blasé attitude and said "well you did book one of the front rooms"-there is no mention of this on the website, and the back rooms are next to a staircase that was very noisy with a door that kept banging shut as the owners went up and down.

Saturday night we hoped things would improve, but the music was again still playing at 1.30am. We went down again and there were n guests in, it was just the owner playing his music. he turned it down slightly but not off, and continued to pay it until 2.10am. The dog was better as they kept it downstairs with them.

In the morning we went down to breakfast and there were two other couples (this pace only had 5 rooms so that is four rooms worth of people) and before we said anything, the others asked if we had heard the music and said that they were really annoyed)

We mentioned these problems to the lady on breakfast duty and asked to speak to the owners -she was not prepared to come down and talk t us, despite being awake and upstairs in the same building, which seemed indicative of her attitude to the b+ b customers. We did get a discount but she didn't seem to care less.

It is a real shame as you can see from previous reviews that people have enjoyed their time their under the previous owners but the new owners will struggle if they continue like this.

One final example of attitude: the stairs up to the guest bedrooms has a locked door. This was constantly left unlocked, or unlocked after we had locked it, yet it was next to the back entrance to the pub, which anyone could walk into and which had been propped open. I queried this and was told "it was always kept open".

We would not return which is a real shame-great location, decent rooms, decent price, the noise from the being on a main road was fine, but shocking noise levels from music and owners who don't give a stuff about the B+B side of the business. We often stay in pubs, and fully expect that music might go on until midnight, but not 2am with no customers left in pub! Disappointing.

We came away to relax and have come back knackered after 5 hours sleep (doors banging as people starting going up and down stairs at 7.30am-not a problem normally but not great after music until 2am!)

Room Tip: Back rooms quietest but next to fire door and stairs. Front room lovely with big roll top bath, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happyhols2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our first stop upon leaving London. My brother and I inquired about accommodation at a couple other places before finding the Bay Horse. As a matter of fact, we lucked out in a couple different ways. First, we reserved a room at a motel down the road. However, there computers were down. They were nice enough to hold our bags and sent us down the road to a pub with a dart board...The Bay Horse! After speaking with the bar tender, they had a double room and gave us a fantastic rate. We quickly retrieved our bags and moved into the spacious room above a fantastic pub.

York was a great stop during a fantastic English/Scottish adventure. If your travels take you through York, stop by and visit the Bay Horse, even if it is just for a pint or two!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AJW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stumbled upon the Bay Horse by asking a cab driver at the train station if he knew of any B&Bs. As this place is actually a pub with lodging upstairs, I'd never have found it on my own. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and of ample size, and the breakfast was complete. I will say it was a bit nice to come back at night and be able to have a drink before bed. The pub closed relatively early, though, so noise at night wasn't an issue. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughingspirit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed room Room 1 at the Bay Horse for 1 night. The room overlooking the side street and the bathroom overlooked the beer garden, which is quite pretty.

The room was large with lots of original featues. The bathroom was large but the paint was pealing off the ceiling and the shower door was missing.

The pub downstairs was very lively but we couldn't hear a thing in our room.

The hotel is only a few mins walk from the centre of York and there is free parking, which probably the hotels best feature.

The breakfast was just average, lack of choice - no cereal or fruit, only full english.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JugsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were staying for one night, we took two rooms and were very disappointed with the state of the rooms. The rooms were in poor decorative order, needed refurbishing, carpet was dirty, room generally needed a good clean cables dangling from TV which was facing the ceiling, WC seat did not fit the WC pan, the mattress on the bed was of poor quality. The flower bed outside the room had more weeds than flower and the ground were generally untidy. We would not of stayed if we had more time on arrival to find an alternative place to stay. Breakfast was OK and staff helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

They call themselves bed & BREAKFAST but most days of the week breakfast is not available.
very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stopped here for a night on sunday 5th june and have to say everything was great.
The room was excellent with huge bed and roll top bath.
The pub is only a 5 min walk from the train station and 5mins from the center of york.
A special mention as well for the girl who manages the place,she checked us in as soon as we arrived and was more than helpful whenever we asked for anything.
She was a pleasure to deal with and the rest of the staff were spot on.
Would definitely stop here again.
steve&mandy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve00078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#12 of 57 in York
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Watergate Inn
The Watergate Inn
#169 of 194 in York
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: 55 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional 17th-century pub and B&B is situated in the historic city of York. Just a stone's throw from the Micklegate Bar, we are in an ideal location for York City Centre. Our delightful and cosy pub and B&B is full of all the character you would expect from an old English establishment! We serve fabulous real ales, fine wines and spirits. 4 en-suite room and 1 Bedroom with private bathroom are also available. A warm welcome from all the team at The Bay Horse awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing