We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment, brilliant service, lovely...”
other travelers have booked this property
Cafe Concerto team at The Music House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cafe Concerto team at The Music House
A view to savour - York Minster from The Music House Apartment A spacious living room overlooking the Minster - comfort is the first priority !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Cafe Concerto team at The Music House
A view to savour - York Minster from The Music House Apartment
A spacious living room overlooking the Minster - comfort is the first priority !
Queen sized Bedroom with flatscreen TV overlooking York Minster
Second Bedroom - with Queen bed & single - both have ipod chargers, phones & digital radio/alarms
A light, bright Oak Dining Area seating 6 guests
Luxury Toiletries & lots of storage space in the bathroom
Relax in the bath with fluffy extra large bathsheets & robes
Granite handwash basin in second bedroom, overlooking church rooftops
Lovely qualities & attention to details in the Grade two listed building
A compact kitchen, but fully equipped to highest standard - what else would you expect from us with
Beautiful mirrors in light, spacious hallways
The Music House - music prints form the theme of the decor with old prints to enjoy
A bottle of Cuvee Concerto to welcome you (Red or White - Dry or Med)
Cafe Concerto on the ground floor - serving fabulous fresh food
Reflection of York Minster in our front window
Minster Quarter View over the roftops
Breakfast,Lunch or Dinner or just a great Cappuccino on your doorstep. (or take it up to your apartm
Will you choose the Raspberry Creme Brullee or Belgium Chocolate Cake ?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dido B
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, brilliant service, lovely atmosphere and altogether a wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I was the last of our party to make it to York, and arrived in torrential rain hours late after an epic drive. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - they whisked my luggage up to the apartment, found a postcode for the car park and kept a hot meal ready for me long after they would normally have finished serving. It was a wonderful welcome, and the rest of the stay lived up to this excellent start. The apartment is large, well-equipped, comfortable and brilliantly placed right in the middle of York, right by the Minster (which turned out to be an excellent landmark as we toured around this wonderful city). The Cafe Concerto is an excellent neighbourhood restaurant, and you have the advantage of choosing to eat there (or elsewhere, of course), or combining the freedom of self-catering with some catered options (excellent coffee for breakfast, for example).
Altogether it was one of the best min-breaks I've ever enjoyed, and I would happily stay at The Music House again. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly, helpful staff
Liked least: I liked everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FussyFemm...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great owners”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the apartment just across the road from York Minster. It is a fantastic location within easy walking distance of all the attractions and historical sites of York. The apartment was very clean and well appointed with extras such as toiletries, wine, tea and coffee, milk plus snacks. The linen was of good quality and the beds were comfortable.

The apartment is over two floors and up a set of stairs, so would not be suitable for those with mobility issues however it worked well for two couples with two good sized bedrooms on the top floor and kitchen, bathroom and large living and dining area downstairs. The front bedroom can be a little noisy with the window open as was necessary when we were there but we didn't mind the sound of happy people and it quietened down when the pubs closed about 11pm.

The owner is the proprietor of the cafe below and made us very welcome on arrival. Her staff were most helpful and very friendly. The cafe is lovely with great food and we ate there several times and also took advantage of the "room service" to the apartment on one occasion.

Overall, the experience was very positive and it was a pleasure to deal with Rozz and her team. We will certainly stay there again when we revisit York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendliness of owners and staff
Liked least: A bit of a walk to the (free) car parking but offset by ability to drop bags off in quiet, close location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttonsNo...
Norfolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Fantastic city centre apartment ideally situated for York University (the purpose of our visit). We loved the quirkiness of the building with its old fashioned charm. The apartment was a real home from home with plenty of clean comfy space to relax in, which we appreciated after our long journey. The owner was brilliant during the booking process, thank you Rozz, we will definitely be staying again, and I may even bring the hubbie next time. The staff we met from the downstairs restaurant (yummy food) were warm and friendly, thank you James for accommodating our late check in. The only negative came from my daughter who commented 'it's a shame James didn't come with the apartment'............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in this beautiful apartment, and I am sure it will not be our last. Fantastic location overlooking York Minster! the apartment is luxurious and very tastefully decorated, full of charm and character that is hard to find in hotels. And yet you have room service on hand, just ring down your order and it is delivered to your table in the apartment...what an amazing service. And as for the gorgeous carrot cake they kindly baked to celebrate our special event...out of this world. the staff are all pleasant and did everything to make us feel very welcome...thank you so much. Book this apartment and you will definitely not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W M
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great location, staff really friendly, real home from home and the perfect place to stay in York? Cafe great on the ground floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebekah a
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, quirky apartment, and an owner that couldn't have been more amazing - very highly recommended”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were lucky to find The Music Room when our other pre-booked accommodation fell through on the afternoon of our arrival. Rozz (the owner) was amazing - she sorted us out at very short notice, prepared the apartment beautifully, came out to meet us and help with our bags - and even found us a much needed bottle of wine! We were a group of four professional women with high standards and weren't too sure what to expect - but the apartment was beautifully presented and we were totally relaxed and happy there. Great beds, super kitchen - and everything was thought of... Although The Music Room was booked up for the rest of our stay, Rozz even helped us find alternative accommodation for the rest of the weekend - she was amazing and we can't recommend her and her accommodation highly enough. Thanks Rozz - if we're ever back in York, you'll be our first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness and professionalism of the owner, and the lovely apartment itself
Liked least: There were a few stairs, but Rozz even helped with our bags - and stairs are the price you pay for this kind of period property... not a problem at all...
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Central Location - ideal for short break”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed at the Music House for two nights in October. The apartments are well equipped on the 2nd & 3rd floor of a traditional building. Very central with great views to the Minster, a mere 50m away. The location was key for us with all the main sights,cafes, restaurants, station within 5 - 15 mins.

Made to feel very welcome by the staff at the Cafe Concerto (on the ground floor) who were able to let us in an hour early and arranges to look after our bags on our final day.

Lovely stay and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing