We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pub - but not for young children”

House of the Trembling Madness
Ranked #22 of 859 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a medieval ale house and specialist beer merchant/store. It is simply amazing, the quirky food is excellent - robust cheeseboards , pies, stews, best locally sourced ingredients and has a 5 start rating from hygiene standards. They also have some amazing holiday apartments, check out their website
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,705 reviews
973 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 882 helpful votes
“Very good pub - but not for young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We sought this place out for lunch based on my wife's researches when we were in York for the day with our daughter and her 2 year old son. Very well worth the visit as the beer and food were both very good - but it is wholly unsuited for hungry, tired young children!
Our mistake entirely - we will definitely return, but on our own ....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    480
    81
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yalaha, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was the coolest pub ever! The decor was fabulous and it felt like you were back in time. Would have liked the special of the day, but it was all gone by 5:00. Instead had a cheesy soup with thick bread. My husband had the platter of game meats. A neat experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This bar is hidden away above a specialist off licence near the top of Stonegate. I must have walked past the shop front hundreds of times without realising there was a bar you could access through the shop. It's a nice, historic building and well worth a look. You may struggle to get access during busy times as it fills up quickly.

Helpful?
Thank TheRedHelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is so much more than just a place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hidden away up fairly steep wooden stairs above an amazingly well stocked shop selling all manner of alcohol (check out the basement) on Stonegate in York is this strange and wonderful 'eatery-without-a-kitchen'. We ordered a potato, leek and cheese soup with via vecchia bread and lashings of butter, and a ghost ale steak pie with mashed spuds and beer gravy (my other doesn't like mushy peas because he is from London and therefore knows no better ;) ). The food arrived in abundant portions and was hearty and rich, hot and flavourful and most definitely filling. This is not a fine dining establishment of microscopic meals daintily arranged like some foodie work of art that costs a fortune! This is a venue staying true to it's long ago history. It is concerned with presenting quality food well made and very reasonably priced, coupled with an ideology that to join alcohol consumption with food consumption is a very good thing indeed. I have to say that I most heartily agree, especially as such care is taken over the selection of beers etc on offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaththemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Staving off Delirium tremens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

First revisit for a few months, early Sunday lunchtime to make sure we got in & comfy.

Good beer selection as always. Same menu (which is welcome - but note, the soups, stews & sausage selection change regularly). Excellent pie, stew & burger - only (minor) negative comment would be the bread for the burger which lets down an otherwise cracking plateful.

As ever, you need to be patient for food but given the place only has room for a few dozen people, all of whom seem to want to eat, and the area behind the bar is very, very, very small, I'm amazed they do what they do and maintain the very friendly & hospitable service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank U-Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of the Trembling Madness also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to House of the Trembling Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing