We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a restaurant, as such.”

House of the Trembling Madness
Ranked #21 of 879 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is a medieval ale house and specialist beer merchant/store. It is simply amazing, the quirky food is excellent - robust cheeseboards , pies, stews, best locally sourced ingredients and has a 5 start rating from hygiene standards. They also have some amazing holiday apartments, check out their website
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is not a restaurant, as such.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a unsual place. If you a lover of real ales from all around europe, please don`t miss out.- It`s great to find a place like this. The shop itself sells all kinds of beers and spirits, you are spoilt for chose. Upstairs is the bar, where you can sample many a good beer(try La trappe Dubbel- just a halve !). The place is well known locally, so it can get qiute busy at times. The food menu is short, but all sourced locally in york, and is good value.
Some people might think it`s bit expensive - but you pay for what you get-Beers you can`t get in your local estate pub!- ENJOY

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iandjonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,411
    501
    83
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing quaint pub!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stumbled across this little gem on a day out to celebrate my birthday, we were blown away by the atmosphere and surroundings this place had to offer, I even purchased a few takeaway ales and token glass from the integrated off licence, the chocolate orange ale was delicious and made me smile. The best pub I have ever been to, highly recommend!!!

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“love this pub”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

go here if you want an atmospheric, quirky, popular pub in a lovely central location. go here if you want a great choice of beers and fab cider and really, really enjoyable food (and you're not in a hurry!). not much more to say. it's brilliant- go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vexed77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Madness.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Bizarre name but lovely little bar with choice of pies, or platters. Well kept beer, get dug in here and drink/nibble/chat all afternoon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robertmanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bigger selection of beers than the internet (maybe)”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved this place! Visited on a Monday afternoon following a weekend birthday visit to York with my husband. We both enjoy sampling different ales and European lagers and this place certainly gave us enough choice. The shop on the ground floor definitely has the largest selection of beers I've ever seen, and even sells some that I struggle to find from online sellers. The bar upstairs will serve you any of the beers from the shop (with a small drink-in mark up). We found the staff to be friendly and happy to chat about their on-tap selection. It is expensive, and be prepared for it to be busy. We arrived around 1ish on a Monday afternoon and two drinks later the place was full. Well worth a visit though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PantsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of the Trembling Madness also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to House of the Trembling Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing