We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite up to standard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Marriott Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
York Marriott Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in York
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not quite up to standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is well placed for York with bus stops outside and regular transport into the city (which take 5/10 mins).

Our room (with two doubles) was great for a family and was pleasingly large but.... on arrival the toilet seat was broken plus had a suspicious brown mark! The sink had hairs in. The room also smelled a bit. THis was all fixed but I just feel a dirty room gets you off to a bad start.

The hotel pool was freezing cold for two of the three days we were there (something was broken) and since it was snowing outside we would have liked to make good use of it.

The staff were very friendly, the breakfast nice. But once again I have found Marriott is not as good as it should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andiamosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    636
    351
    144
    64
See reviews for
393
783
39
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from staying at the marriott. The hotel is lovely, very friendly staff. We had a large grandstand room which overlooked the racecourse. Room was clean, nice big bathroom with double shower and bath, superking sized bed, which was very comfy. Also had a balcony with table and chairs, had the weather been alot warmer it would have been lovely to sit out. Buffett breakfast was great, everything you could think of, including fresh fruit (Which is a bonus). It had a big car park which many hotels in york dont have, so this was great. Although the heating worked i think the dial had come off so it only had a little stub to control it, but nothing major. The only problem was my partner got flu whilst we were there so this put a dampner on things. Would definately return to this hotel though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanouveous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have been staying at this Marriott for years and i was unimpressed this week. Despite being a "frequent and valued customer" (according to my welcome letter from the GM) I was in a smallish room with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen - smaller even than central London hotels. The room was freezing, and after I cranked the new wall settings to max I realised the room was not getting any warmer. I Checked and it was blowing out cold air. Found a small radiator which took foreve pr to heat the room up. The second night I asked them to bring an extra duvet as I had been so cold on the first. I had to call for it twice and it eventually arrived with a duvet cover for me to put on!

Room service on the first night was an absolutely dreadful burger and undercooked chips. Ate half and gave up.

The first morning I had someone hammering n my door just after 7 asking If I was with the tour. If I hadn't already been awake I would have been really annoyed about this. How hard is it to keep a list of which rooms the tour guests are in?

Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in hotel as this was venue for a wedding, they did a great job for the wedding, food was fabulous, disco great sound and staff were superb. We used the pool and again very friendly staff.

We took an upgrade for our room, which sounded great, but it was on ground floor and no heating! - with -3c outside, not great.

The hotel credited the upgrade.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jtga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I spent a weekend with my Husband at this hotel in March. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was large with 6ft very comfy bed. Bathroom was a little tired looking and they had run out of shower gel which was annoying as I didn't take any! Food in restaurant was very good. Will definitely go back.Easy to walk to Town centre or hop on any bus.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for myself & a friend, who I wanted to treat for a spa day. We were happy to find it only a short taxi ride from the station & were welcomed by friendly staff at reception. We were slightly early to check in, however we sat & had drinks & snacks in the lovely conservatory overlooking the race course. Drinks, I felt were overpriced, however. The waiter did try to charge me twice for this, but that was a genuine mistake - he had forgotten I had paid cash at the bar & then handed me another bill at the end! He apologised for his mistake. Our room was luxurious, with a double bed each! And I must say the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. The bathroom was fine, clean & modern. The leisure facilities were ok. The sauna was set too hot nobody could use it but the pool & steam room were fine. Our massages were booked an hour apart, there wasnt a very relaxing atmosphere in the spa, it was clear there was one girl working alone & lacked enthusiasm during our treatments. The massage was poor if I'm honest. Breakfast was average, lots of items omitted & no bread for toast, had to ask for butter. Waitress said a full English breakfast would need to be specially made, almost making me feel that was a burden - even though we had paid for it. On the whole, a very pleasant stay, pricey but pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noubydarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A Works weekend away which proved to be most enjoyable. Comfy beds and pillows. clean rooms. We expected the pool and lounging area to be a little larger than it actually was but this was at no detriment to the weekend. I recommend that any spa treatments be booked in advance as we could not book any on the Saturday or the Sunday....they were fully booked..it must have been the reasonable prices on offer. Although the Hotel states City Centre, it cost £10 for the taxi ride into the centre. Breakfast was most enjoyable and the 12pm vacation of rooms made it an even more pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: 3 Double rooms booked ..40 42 ( can't remember the third) in the new build. These were all on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapelfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Property: York Marriott Hotel
Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#16 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing