We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous food at a great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of York Tandoori

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
York Tandoori
Ranked #359 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Staff and food fantastic, take your own booze and good friends and you are in for a good night out been going 5 years now 3 times a month and all prices are good value,

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowface55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best local takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This really is the best local Indian in York by far and you can eat in too, which we have done on several occasions. Food is very fresh and reasonably priced. Customer service is second to none.

Helpful?
1 Thank kevnbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family restaurant with tasty food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Small, quaint restaurant hidden away in the streets of York. The restuarant was not busy on the night I went in but the owner was very friendly, chatting to me while I waited for my takeaway. He even advised on which were the extra spicy dishes that I wanted. The food took about 15/20 minutes to prepare and the cost was quite good. I paid £11 for 2 main meals and 2 pieces of garlic naan. The restaurant does do sit down service. The food is not extremely spicy so it caters for those who favour a milder taste. It doesnt have a very appealing exterior so not many people go in - very kitch lighting. But the food was good and the restuarant was extremely clean and neat with very good service. They also do deliveries in the area and through www.hungryhouse.co.uk - Happy dining!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BYOB & decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nice food and friendly staff but the real bonus is that you can bring your own alcohol which is bound to save some money! The curry is a little on the mild side- I went for medium but next time I would go for hot. Good naan bread too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dilleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had an excellent Indian meal here which was very good value. It was quite hot but what we chose - a dhansak and a methi gosht are meant to be and they were very tasty.
The portions were very large and the waiter was friendly and polite.
It is also a bring-your-own which keeps the price down.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clivesalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed York Tandoori also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing