We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in York ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best stay in York ever”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed at the Premier Inn York North for 2 nights. We were amazed by how much it had changed from holiday inn. The grounds around the hotel are lovely and it is only a 25 min walk from the city centre the staff in the hotel were great with us and the kids. We had breakfast in the hotel and with the kids going free i could not fault it.
Any one wanting to go to York Should look at going here. :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    308
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
276
411
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2009

One of the truly newly refurbished Premier Inn hotels. Good firm bed, compact but clean bathroom. Good strength shower but a bit low if you are above 6 feet tall! Lots of different lighting options in the room and modern flat screen TV with all the freeview channels. Quiet location and easy to get into York centre. Could walk it in 20 mins but there is a bus stop just outside which gets you there in 5.

The Dormouse pub next door does excellent value for money meals.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Light65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Me and my wife stayed here with our son and the service was great the room was brand new, they were undergoing a refurbishment at the time but we could not even see any builders. on the first morning we went down for breakfast it was ok only continental at the moment but one of the managers there told me that from the end of feb they will have a full cooked all you can eat breakfast so i have re booked in for march and we are really looking forward to it. I think that the change from holiday inn has made this hotel really good value for money i think we only paid £64.

  • Liked — The room and the price £64 per night.
  • Disliked — The breakfast but they are getting that sorted.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leetrnr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babbybabby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I stayed here in August 2008 and found the hotel to be ok.

The room was a bit worn and in serious need of upgrading. Dull and didnt think it to be very clean. Paid 69.95 for the night and am sure could have gotten a better deal elsewhere. The showers were YELLOW! Looked like someone had weed up the wall.

Rude receptionist informed me this was the same in all the rooms and he wouldnt consider moving my room and offered no alternative or discount. He was a very unpleasant young man - Highly rude and unhelpful and obviously didnt want to be there.

Breakfast was quite decent. Croissants, pain-au-chocolats and cereals etc. Bit small but hotel not too busy. Young girl doing breakfast very kind and efficient.

Hope this helps others as it is really not worth the money and the receptionist will not help you with anythiing - even your bags!

Have written a complaint to the manager so we will see

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Receptionist - wish i knew his name
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank babbybabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaydon on Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Having read varied reports about this hotel, we were pleasantly surprised when staying overnight on 29th may. The staff were pleasant, room clean, comfortable and quiet. The adjacent Dormouse pub is a delight and its vast outdoor sitting area was very pleasant on what was a warm and sunny day. The Continental breakfast served in the hotel was excellent and staff were attentive and quick to clear tables and re stock food. We would certainly stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This hotel (if you can call it that) is a horrible place to stay. The staff, as others have said, seem to do there best with what they have. Only saw a couple of different members of staff throughout our 4 night stay. Mitchells & Butler have not put any money into this hotel. The mattresses and sofas were filthy - in the rooms and public areas. The public toilets were so dirty, that my wife and myself decided to cross our legs instead!!!! Found USED condoms on the floor and found the bed legs ready to fall off. Breakfast served in a TINY area next to reception desk. Receptionist had to do this aswell!!! Incredible!Car park large and equipped with CCTV so no complaints there. Young lady on reception super friendly but not much she could do apart from re-build the hotel. She ran around and did everything - completely understaffed. I would never stay in another Mitchells & Butler hotel in my life - they obviously dont care about the Holiday Inn Express Brand Standard (or dont know about it!))). No lift and couldnt allocate a ground floor room. Got a discount but would still not return. Just Terrible. Pub next door okay - staff not friendly at all though. Food good though. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We stayed here for one night at short notice at beginning of May because most places we tried in York were full. After reading some of the reviews, we were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. Yes it does seem a little tired in some areas but was clean and comfortable, the staff were welcoming and the continental breakfast was enough to keep us going until lunchtime. The public areas were clean and tidy and two of the staff kept the small breakfast section stocked up throughout the time we were eating.
Our room was very clean, the bathroom adequate, water was hot and there was tea & coffee facilities in the room. While it was comfortable enough for one or two nights, I would not stay for any longer but surely they are only meant for quick stays, hence the name Express Holiday Inns?
Also must agree with some of the reviewers about the Dormouse pub next door. They do really good value-for-money meals throughout the day and there's plenty of seats outside if the weather is good.
I would definitely use this one again for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — Easy access into York
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing