We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We have just returned from a three day break at this Premier Inn and it was very enjoyable. The staff were excellent, so friendly and the service especially in the dining room was first class. The beds and pillows are first class and the three nights we stayed were the best nights sleep we have had in years, so much so we have googled to find out about the mattresses you now use. The only problem we encountered was there was only one hand and bath towel in the bathroom and if like us you have two adults staying in the room it means one of you ends up with a wet towel!!! The only thing we found really disappointing about our stay was using the adjoining Doormouse for dinner. The service was poor as was their menu it has never changed in years. The food was not that good either when it did eventually arrive. We think that a lot of the problems were down to shortage of staff. This should be addressed as this is the nearest place to the hotel to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 953 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2014

Booked this trip rather late as it was planned as a "pick me up" after a rather stressful week .Not sure if you can get deals if you book in advance but I thought £109 was rather steep?The hotel is situated a couple of miles outside the town centre but as anther reviewer mentioned there is a nice walk into town down by the river.As the weather was good this is what we did and also came back the same way with no hassle.We initially got to the hotel approx 10am and was greeted by a friendly and efficient chap on reception who took all our details and payment including two breakfasts for the following morning.As we were early the room wasn't ready however he offered to store our bags and gave us our key cards for later.We had a full day in York which was lovely and returned as I mentioned earlier via the river walk and the "Door mouse" pub next door we sat in the sun and had a beer.The room was clean and equipped with all the essentials and the bed was comfy.We crashed out for a couple of hours before showering and returning to the pub next door for a bite to eat.The shower was good however not ideal for a tall person like myself as you always have to bend slightly to wash your hair which does hurt the back somewhat?The bathroom area was in a little need for a makeover though?Whoever fitted the previous bathroom suite went a little mad with the silicon and it looked a real mess!Only other complaint was the kettle .I grew a beard waiting for it to boil and it wasn't even full:)Brilliant nights sleep and a brilliant breakfast!We would definitely stay here again but would hope to pay less?one thing that is annoying is the "30 minutes free" Wifi!Stop being so tight!!!!Just another thing the pub next door was lovely and the food was delicious (sea bass with Mediterranean vegetables )York was the ideal "pick me up" and the hotel played a massive part.Keep up the good work and send me some gift vouchers please:)

Room Tip: Walk into town by the river if the weather is fine?Turn right out f the hotel towards the church. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business - late night arrival and early morning departure so only a brief stay.

Fantastic friendly and professional staff on reception and at breakfast. Felt really welcome.

Good location, quiet, plenty car parking and pub next door.

Room standard Premier Inn fare, decent size; everything worked well and was clean.

However there was a really horrible smell from the sink drain which I see other reviewers have noted on both ground and first floors. Really did smell like something has died somewhere in the drains!

Breakfast was well organised, pleasant and peaceful. Disappointed there were no croissants available at 8am, and the first yoghurt I chose from the good selection presented was actually 2 days past its use-by date - I'm glad I checked the lid before eating it.

Overall very pleasant stay and would certainly return, but maybe a bit more attention to detail is needed. I'd be surprised if the drain smell hasn't attracted many adverse comments from guests yet it's still there.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank UncleFreddysDead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed two nights in this hotel which is of the usual Premier Inn standard -comfortable, clean and good service. Very handy for getting into the city as there is a bus stop (no.2 bus every 10mins) on the main road outside. £3.70 gets yo an all day ticket for use on all the local buses. There is a pleasant walk to the city along the river which takes a good 30 mins.
Would return here and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nick-Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable overnight stay at this Premier Inn.

Easy to find, good car parking. Excellent welcome from the receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful.

Very clean, bedrooms spotless and well equipped.

Very good breakfast in the morning, polite staff and good food, well presented and cooked with plenty of options.

I would certainly stay here again and it has the bonus of being very close to the Park and Ride system.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Ellwood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The room was small and very scruffy, the bathroom had seen better days, the heater in the bedroom had been vandalised at some point, an effort had been made to remove the graffiti but I wonder why they didn't replace the heater

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff really nice, breakfast was lovely (cooked). Nice and quiet hotel with a lovely restaurant next to it, very good food. A bit expensive but worth it. Rooms clean and modern. We would definitely stay here again.




  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,391 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $63 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing