We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveler rating
538
358
104
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
358
104
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdormouse pubpark and ridecity centrepub next doorbus stopbus servicequiet locationring roadgood nights sleepa ground floor roomcontinental breakfastfree parkingfamily roomno liftroom was clean and comfortablereception staffan evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Positive points
Lovely staff
Great location
Good breakfast, although if you order a cooked one be prepared for a wait

Negative points
Room 201 is far too small for a family of four, there was literally no room we could only fit one case on the floor the children left theirs in the car.
The sink smelt awful, didn't seem to have a trap and you could easily drop something straight down it.
First morning all the beds were tidied, even the children's teddies. Second day the large bed was done but the children's beds were just left in a mess.
Worst point is the kitchen extractor fan which makes a terrible noise from before 7am... nightmare. We needed to window open as the room was very warm.
No extractor working in the bathroom so it was like a sauna after a shower.
Booked as a family room ........ but no bath...... even though we had booked in a 5yr old.

Have stayed in lots of Premier Inns but this one, well our room wasn't good. Went to reception to return keys but the guy was on the phone for ages to my children just left the room keys. At over £100 per night I actually felt robbed.

Room Tip: If you are a family or like an open window dont stay in 201 ask for one on the other side.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riverdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this Premier Inn, which is situated on the north of the city of York. There is a Park and Ride bus stop on the main road about a five minutes walk from the hotel, which is very convenient if you are visiting the city of York. There is plenty of parking in front of the hotel, so it may be better to choose a room at the back to avoid any noise from residents arriving and leaving. The room was very comfortable, and had an en-suite with a shower and TV. There was no safe, fridge or coffee making facilities. The breakfasts are excellent, with the food being cooked fresh and as you like it! The breakfasts cost extra. Dinner is nor provided, but on the same site is 'The Dormouse', a Vintage Inn owned by Mitchell and Butlers - this is a repro inn made from recycled bricks etc and it is very popular so booking a table during the busy season is a must (the hotel will do this on your arrival). The hotel is an excellent choice if visiting the sights of York.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid being disturbed by guests arriving and leaving at the hotel and The Dormouse (an adjacent inn).
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good points: It's in a quiet area (offices). Staff are friendly. Breakfast good, and they are happy to continue serving until at least 9:30 during the week (supposed to finish at 9 which is too early during holiday season).
Bad points: there's no aircon and even when it's 18 outside it can be 23 in the room. Mattress springs can be felt. Rooms are on the cramped side. TV is one of the small non-HD ones.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank mx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here on a Sunday night as an add on to our short break at Forest Holidays Keldy Cabins near Pickering. It was great as it meant we could squeeze in a couple of days in York without all the travelling. The Premier Inn was standard Premier Inn style, the staff were pleasant and helpful. It is next door to a pub where we had a couple of drinks in the garden as the weather was good.There is an ample size free car park associated with the pub and Premier Inn, so when we arrived at 2 we checked in, had a drink then jumped on the Park and Ride into York. Only snag was it was a Sunday and the buses stop running at 6pm and we wanted to stay later to take in an evening meal in York. All was not lost, as I had already done my homework on this, and the Premier Inn had provided us with a taxi number they had a deal running with who do a special rate of £6.50 (or near to that, can't remember exact fare). The taxi firm were efficient and friendly and turned up with 10 minutes of us calling them. Next morning, we got a return park and ride ticket into York, leaving the car at The Premier Inn. Be warned the fare is £2.70 return from the Park and Ride Car Park, or £3.70 return each from the bus stop outside the hotel (I don't understand the logic of this)! However the driver then informed us of a better rate for a group of four of us which worked out at just under £2 each return. We didn't have breakfast at the Premier Inn but where we got off the bus in Museum Street, there is a lovely cafe across the road called Baileys who do a lovely full English for £4.95 before 11am.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights to visit York and surrounding area.
Found room on small side and bathroom very small. No room at all in shower cubicle. The tv was a let down as previous Inns have had large screen wall mounted set. This was tiny by comparison.
Breakfast was great but you waited an age if you ordered a cooked breakfast.
Did not eat at the Dormouse pub as food selection not to our liking. Staff looked to be over worked and not very happy. Always busy at the bar as only ever one person serving with no apparent queuing system.
Having said all that the hotel was very clean and we did enjoy our stay and our visits to York.
Would overall rate this Premier Inn at the lower end of all the Premier Inns we have stayed at.
My biggest gripe with Premier Inns is the price of the breakfast. At £8.75 it was the price of a main meal at the pub. It is a fact that a couple on their own subsidise the kids eat free policy. Why not set the price lower and charge say £2 for a kids breakfast. This would surely be a fairer way of charging !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews