We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“York visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn York North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“York visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very efficient, friendly and comfortable stay at this Premier Inn. Reception staff very professional and helpful. Great hotel to stay at to visit York as park and ride just outside. Breakfast served in hotel restaurant - everything freshly cooked. Good choice for continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    290
    79
    20
    10
See reviews for
256
391
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose this Premier Inn as it was on the edge of the city, we didn't want city noise. It is perfectly situated on an A road approximately 30 minute walk into York. We were in room 229 and the bed in that room is so comfortable. Unfortunately we had noisy neighbours late on the Friday night/early Saturday morning who were calling to each other and banging room doors, but that is no reflection on the hotel, that just shows ignorant people who ignore the "Sshhh" signs along the corridors!

We were in York to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and we had the most wonderful weekend. From the moment we arrived Joanne on reception made us feel welcome. Our friend had rung and arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room, and Joanne went above and beyond the call of duty to organise this when she delivered it at the pre-arranged time, beautifully presented.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was the shower leaked into the toilet area.

In spite of being on an A road we didn’t hear any traffic noise, and we had no disturbance from The Dormouse pub next door either.

We took a taxi into York from the hotel on the Saturday evening which came to £8.

We are looking forward to a return visit. This hotel was great for us with lovely staff.

Well done and thank you Joanne and staff at Premier Inn York North.

Room Tip: The bed in room 229 is very comfortable. The room is quiet away from the road so we did not hear an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comiccuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a trip to York for our 1st wedding anniversary weekend. We went with this premier in as we felt it was still close enough to the city centre for us, but possibly far enough away to make it a no go for stag and hen parties. On our arrival we were welcomed and booked in without any fuss. Our room was ok but a bit dated, not as good as other premier inns I have stayed in recently [Manchester Piccadilly / Albert Docks Liverpool] It appeared someone had thrown a tea bag into the bin but had hit the wall resulting in a big brown mark on the wall and skirting board, it did not look like any attempt had been made to clean it off. The Corridors and stairs were also in need of a good hoovering.

After our arrival we decide to take the local bus into town from the bus stop just across the road, this took 5/10 minutes to get into town and was only £2. It did appear that the buses from this bus stop into town stop about 8pm. When going out for our evening meal the premier inn staff were very helpful and ordered us a taxi, we had a wait of about 30 minutes so went to the dormouse pub for a quick drink. The location of the hotel is quiet and there was very little noise from other guests / nearby rooms, however I was woken by the sound of someone's mobile phone ringing in the room next door. This premier inn feels like it needs a spring clean, however the staff were very helpful, the hotel is very quiet and the location is good, so I would use this premier again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

A really nice place to stay, staff were polite, friendly and couldnt do enough for you. A warm greeting on arrival, lovely clean room and the bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it home. Breakfast in the morning excellent value for money and lots of choice, cooked breakfast cooked to order and presented well. Staff at breakfast were also very polite. It only cost £2 per person one way into the City and the bus stop was 2 mins away. Highly recommend you stay here and what a lovely City.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

A lovely hotel, clean modern and met expectations. Only negative comment was a distinct drain smell from the bathroom sink. Friendly staff happy to help but perhaps could have been a little more proactive. Great restaurant opposite. Easy to get to from York Station.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties in walking ask for a room close to reception, as some of the rooms are a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were part of a large party that stayed this weekend at this hotel and we cannot praise it enough. Not only was the hotel kept beautifully clean, the staff were absolutely fantastic and so friendly, in particular Joanne and Sam. We had a fantastic weekend and cannot thank them enough, they went above and beyond to ensure that we had everything that we needed and more. Thank you so much for putting so much effort into your job and ensuring that we were looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a four-night break, with some friends. We’d noticed from the website that the hotel has no lift and since two members of the party have mobility issues, we phoned a couple of days before arrival to ask for ground floor rooms, which were duly arranged with no hassle.

Checking in was the usual smooth experience we’ve come to expect from Premier Inns (which we use quite often) and we soon found our rooms.

Our overall first impression was that it’s not like other Premier Inns, since there’s just a shower rather than a bath and the room is somewhat smaller than most. Additionally, the breakfast is served in the hotel rather than in the attached pub (which, unusually, isn’t one of the Whitbread brands). Subsequent research revealed that it used to be a Holiday Inn Express, which explained a lot!

The rooms were clean and looked as though they’d been recently refurbished. They had the usual flat-screen TV and tea/coffee facilities, and were large enough, though there was a distinct lack of space to hang clothes. There’s no air-conditioning but that wasn’t a problem during our stay as the rooms were never too hot. The only real problem was the ‘drain smell’ from the sink which others have commented on – it does seem to be a common problem with the hotel.

Breakfast had all the usual Premier Inn hot and cold options. The cooked food is prepared to order and always arrived hot and fresh. The porridge was a particular favourite with those who sampled it. In fact the breakfast here was in my view better than that available at a 5-star hotel we recently stayed in.

Overall, then, a pleasant stay at a good price and we’d have no hesitation to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing