We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms not up to standard but Staff excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Rooms not up to standard but Staff excellent”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We always stay at Premier Inn as you know what you are getting, so on a trip to York over the Easter weekend, we booked this one.

The hotel is tucked away off the main road and the drive to the car park winds around the Dormouse Vintage Inn Restaurant. This road is too narrow and could do with resurfacing and new road markings.

We were allocated a room on the ground floor to the right of reception. Four rooms are situated here and ours had a connecting door to the adjacent room. We were not too happy about this.

The room had to be the smallest Premier Inn room yet. It is not standard Premier Inn size, maybe to be expected in a city like York, but wouldn’t that be the same in all other cities as well then. With three of us in the room, it felt very claustrophobic and we were falling over each other.

The bathroom was also very small and cramped with only a shower, no bath. Not a big problem for us but for some it may be. A bit shabby as well and could do with refurbishment.

There is the most bizarre door arrangement in the bathroom. The door doubles as the toilet door and bathroom door. Hard to explain and not sure if it is a good thing or not. Our daughter loved it, but we can’t make our minds up.

The IT facilities were good with no problems on getting on line.

Beds were a good size and comfy as normal and all the normal Premier Inn “extras” were there. (Tea, TV, pillows etc.)

The breakfast area is probably the smallest I have ever seen but that aside, the staff did a great job ensuring everyone was catered for. Despite the size, there is a good breakfast selection.

The Inn’s car park was good with plenty of room, even on the Easter Holiday break.

The Inn is in a great location and has easy access to buses into York.

We were on the ground floor and do not believe there was a lift. The door leading the stairs backed onto our room and we could hear people going up and down the stairs.

The thing that stands out is how great the staff were. Friendly, efficient, helpful and with a smile. They are probably some of the best Premier Inn staff we have come across. On Easter Sunday they even a real bunny for the kids to stroke.

Rating would have been an average if not for the staff pushing it up to Very Good.

Room Tip: Specify a room away from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    298
    84
    20
    12
See reviews for
266
402
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Brilliant stay.. Free parking. 5 minute bus ride into York city.
Hotel clean as all premier inns.. Smaller room than other premier inns we've stayed in but totally acceptable. Room was a bit too warm. Breakfast was freshly cooked.. Not buffet as other premier inns we've stayed in but this was much better idea.

Had evening mail at brill pub next door.. The dormouse.

One issue could be for people is there is no lift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Normally we love premier inn but these rooms were small for 4 people and too hot, plus beds were uncomfortable and worst of all, too much noise from room next door through the adjoining door
Breakfast was good, but it wasn't a hot buffet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good situation, very good service, comfortable, good continental breakfast, pleasant Dormouse Restaurant nearby. Use Street address on Satnav, rather than Postal Code !
Easy access to York via bus service if required.




  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked 6 rooms for our party of 15 for an overnight stay while we visited Castle Howard for the Proms.
There is no lift which took us by surprise as a member of our party did have a mobility issue & we needed to carry small children to bed late at night. There are not any baths either but cleverly designed shower rooms with plenty of hot water.
Everyone was very pleased with their room and super freshly cooked to order breakfast which we all went to have at the same time, half filling the restaurant. The chef was friendly from behind the counter and clearly cared about us all having had a good experience. The waitress was careful with our orders and we had a good value breakfast as te children eat for free.
We arrived back late at night, very wet from our evening sitting in the rain but had a friendly greeting and were offered the tea & coffee tray so we could replenish our stocks and get a warm drink.
We would stay here again as it was a good location for exploring York with a park & ride bus station not far away.
In general: Premier Inn would be more helpful to their customers if they displayed the name of the hotel prominently as we called at the wrong one first and I had to wait in a queue to ask at the first one which I had arrived at. Incidentally I didn't get the usual text asking me if I wanted directions to this hotel and I did need them! We often pass by a hotel and think it would be a handy place to stay but are never sure which one we have passed so perhaps this is a company issue.

Room Tip: Remember there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahk8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

the room we stayed in was smaller than some premier inns,also NO BATH .There is a good bus service from just outside the grounds into york.The staff were friendly and very helpful.The car park is very good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I got married this weekend and stayed in the premier inn, along with a large number of my guests, on the night before the big day. Joanne and her team were so personal and kind and made us all feel so special.
Joanne was genuinely concerned that I was too nervous to eat and made sure that every sign of worry from me was met with smiles and encouragement.
"Above and beyond" doesn't begin to cover my experience as our button holes were received from the florists and kept refrigerated until we needed them.
Thank you premier inn York north. You got the best weekend of my life off to a wonderful start!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandKKilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St North) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North Hotel
Address: Clifton Park Avenue | Shipton Road, York YO30 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in York
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
York North is a small Premier Inn set on the outskirts of York, just 1.5 miles from York Minster. With brilliant Park and Ride facilities and a bus stop opposite which takes you straight into the heart of York City Centre. Adjacent to us is The Dormouse Vintage Inn Pub/Restaurant serving food and drink daily. My team and I are proud of the great feedback we receive. Please contact Premier Inn for any other details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing