We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on business and found it to be very lovely. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
My room was quite small but it had everything in it that you needed. It also has excellent black out blinds. I found there to be good WiFi access in my room (which is free) even though I was right up on the top floor. They also give you really nice tea in the rooms, not like some places where it’s cheap and nasty.
I ate an evening meal in the bar area and although the menu was quite small had no problem finding something I wanted and the chef was more than happy to accommodate my slight tweaks to the dish of choice. Breakfast in the morning was freshly prepared to order and there was a proper toaster which I think is always a good sign.
Overall a very happy experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    433
    147
    71
    36
See reviews for
227
651
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We found the hotel to be very good, the main rooms were all well presented with a nice open fire in the restuarant at night. good service from all of the staff, the only down side was the poor breakfast, very small one sauage one rasher of bacon etc and the black pudding you could have used as a ball.Our bedroom was at the back of the hotel which was good no road traffic but the room was dark and dull.Overall a good hotel and yes we would stop here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Whist overall the hotel was good, there were little things which rather let down the experience. Tables in both the brasserie & the restuarant are much too small for 4 people. As a result it was a struggle to fit everything on to them. Breakfast was poor. The scrambled egg masqueraded as a rubber compound. The rest of the food was just undercooked enough (the black pudding was overcooked) to spoil the whole plate (the beans were fine!). Reception couldn't answer for room service as he was overworked checking in other guestssingle handedly. Couldn't keep the sash window open as it fell down each time. Managed to find my book to wedge it open which unfortunately suffered an overnight rain cloud. Would we stay there again? Yes but we'd make sure the above issues were resolved first.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have eaten here on two occasions and have had a great meal with good service. I have also booked my wedding here and have found the team to be very helpful. The hotel is very well presented and has a lovely atmosphere. I have viewed several of the rooms, they all look lovely, the bathrooms could definitely do with an update as they are basic.

Room Tip: Note to my rating using my iPad I knoCked swimming pool yet there is no pool, was unable to remove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. The building is beautiful, the food is good, the staff are friendly, however, the staff are a bit inefficient our restaurant reservation was lost for the entire stay except Christmas day. The receptionist was getting information for us and failed to ring us as promised. A young man in reception watched us struggle to bring our luggage inside in a howling gale without helping us.

The rooms are ok. Our room was huge but right on the road and earplugs were needed for the entire stay as even on Christmas night and Boxing day night the traffic never stopped roaring by.
The rooms at the back I am told are quieter but you can still hear the traffic and the outlook is dull. The kitchen fans here are also a draw back. However, overall it was a good stay. It is very convenient for York and the nearby designer centre as the centre has buses running all day except Christmas day.

Room Tip: We are told room one which looks at a wall but is large and pleasant is a good one to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing