We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The ambience of your hotel was excellent and the friendly disposition of the staff was quite impressive.

I am more than happy to endorse the B&W Pavilion Hotel as 'THE place to stop', when visiting York, or touring the Yorkshire Dales.

It has style and class - its a handsome and intimate hotel, where you are made to feel most welcome by some excellent staff!

I came by electric car and they had me plugged in and connected in 2 mins! Nice to know you can get great accommodation, great food, great hospitality - and collect the car fully charged at no additional cost!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist - they will give you the best - every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed for three nights, this is our second visit to the hotel. We found the staff just as friendly and polite as last time, the reception staff especially. As we were staying to celebrate our anniversary we were offered a room upgrade, which was a nice gesture, however, the room (room 44, Madam Bollinger) did not really live up to our expectations of an 'upgrade'. I suggest some refurbishment be seriously considered for this room as there were maintenance and cleanliness issues with the room but we did not complain as on the whole we enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was good but inconsistant, what we got given varied from one morning to the next. I would have scored the hotel a higher rating if it was'nt for these issues.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently held my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary lunch at The Pavilion Hotel and we were delighted with the outcome. The Courtyard Suite with our table for 32 looked lovely and was commented upon by many of our guests. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and the attention to detail by the head waiter and the waiting staff was first class. Thanks go to Sarah, the events manager, whose organisation ensured the lunch party was a great success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MCLCYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

For business this hotel is fine. The bar food is good and fast. Breakfast is straightforward and the staff are friendly.
That said, I stayed in room #27 which had no curtains...only shear. On top of that, with strong winds, the old windows rattle like a snake. I had to jam the room service menu into the window to stop it from making noise.
Other than that...straight forward and convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herrie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just loved this hotel. Traditional but unique and full of character. Rooms very individual and the different meeting and dining rooms all have a different story. Atmospheric and charismatic , with a very friendly group of staff. I'm looking forward to going back. Easily located and not far from the main A road or centre of town . Fits in with the charm of York very well

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank PaulWait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Paid £151 for 1 night. No wifi, no room service menu too far out of the city good job we can walk or £10 taxi fare each way. Breakfast really poor look for a better deal than this. Full breakfast was 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 tomato, 1 hash brown, 1 over cooked black pud, 1 solid poached egg tinned mushroom yuck. Buffett no better 3 day old ham & cheese in a packet. Don't book this place

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nwadn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent two nights in the Pavilion Best Western in York and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This hotel is excellent value for money. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was of a very high standard, copious amounts for breakfast and a superb range with everything you could ask for. We had one evening meal during our stay and again excellent value and the food was awesome. The room was very clean and comfortable .Would recommend to anyone travelling to York , very easy access to city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $104 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing