We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were attending a family wedding in York. The staff were all very friendly and polite. Breakfast selection was great - although the menu was a bit limited. Staff couldn't really decide wether gluten free was catered for or not. Other than that it was in great location. Easy to get a bus into city or a taxi will be around £7. Will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    439
    147
    72
    36
See reviews for
231
654
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We got married here and it was fantastic! They did all they could to make our wedding special.We really enjoyed the hog roast. Overall the food was excellent. We got some lovely photos to remember our day by. From the day we started planning,till the morning after our wedding,everything ran smooth as silk. We loved every minute of it. Thanks guys

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I arrived late at night and the night watchman was so helpful as if his hotel and found me a charger for my blackberry, in the morning the staff were equally as helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and bathroom nice. Slightly dated but not terribly so, very quiet and good value. Breakfast looked good although I didn't partake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Pavilion as it was hosting a wedding we were attending, and was impressed with the service and rooms.
The wedding was beautiful and the staff were very helpful, Our room overlooked the courtyard but the wedding finished at 12 sharp so we weren't kept awake by noise.
The only downside to our stay was that the bar shut at 12 even for hotel guests and the English breakfast was a little disappointing.
i also thought that it was a little overpriced at £126.00 for 1 nights b&b for 2 (that also included a 10% discount as we were wedding guests) .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki_Matt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had our wedding here in March 2013 and we would just like to say a huge thank you to everyone for all the effort they put into our special day. We went with the hotels winter wedding package and they were more than happy to sit down and let us amend and add to the package to suit exactly what we wanted. There was nothing that we couldn't have and all the staff were happy to accommodate our needs. The food is lovely the atmosphere is amazing and the staff were brilliant. If you are looking for a wedding that isn't going to cost the earth but will be individual and special then this is the place. I certainly recommend a winter wedding with the small but beautiful rooms and cosy fires it made it feel very romantic and special.
I would just like to add we had quite a few children at the wedding and the hotel were very helpful and every time we have visited the restaurant the staff all went out of their way for the children and brought them treats and made a fuss of them. It is attention to detail like this that will keep us going back even just for a quiet Sunday lunch which was also lovely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A request for a quiet room appeared to be misunderstood or ignored since we were given a room overlooking a courtyard where wedding receptions were held on two consecutive evenings (and this is a very popular hotel for weddings in the York area). Hence sleep came late and with difficulty with the warm summer evenings needing us to leave a window at least partially open. Due to wedding guests occupying the bar area then we had no choice of menus since the hotel refused to serve the bar menu in the restaurant ( and we were staying for three nights with some particular dietary needs). Dinners are not cheap when you consider that the most basic of accompanying vegetables cost extra. The friends who were with us all had to shout to be heard in the one small lounge available to us and in the end we all gave up and went to our bedrooms early. A meeting with a member of management staff during the last evening allowed us to highlight the problems and we were promised a letter from the general manager upon our return home - this has never arrived. Never, never again.

Room Tip: A room away from other wedding guests and not overlooking wedding reception areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Engineer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was attending a training course in York last week and stayed in the Pavilion for the duration. This hotel is easy to find and is in an ideal location for access to the city centre with plenty of parking. There is no doubt it is a beautiful historic country house set in well maintained grounds however as you would expect with historic houses they are extremely noisy. I stayed for the week in room 39 which was nicely decorated and overlooks a beautiful garden but the smell of the kitchen and the noise of the extractor fans meant I could not have the window open and it was very warm! I am an extremely light sleeper which meant the sound of creaking floorboards in the room next door and from the corridors along with being able to listen to my neighbour's television through the very thin walls resulted in a lack of sleep. During my stay I ate in the hotel once but not wanting to eat in the restaurant I found the bar menu lacking with temptation and expensive so I would highly recommend visiting The Plough Pub across the road which is fantastic value for money. Breakfast at the hotel is very good with hot food being delivered to the table very quickly, at all times the staff were very polite and helpful. As I knew I was pre booked to stay at this hotel again this week I asked the receptionist if she could ensure I was booked into a quiet room. I arrived yesterday and was in room 47 (the Chinese room) which was a nice size with a big bathroom and a very comfortable king size bed. All was well until 06:30 when the guest in the room next door took a shower and I was woken by the most horrendous noise from the pipes! This hotel is a fantastic stay for pleasure and would be a beautiful location for weddings but not for business stays if like me you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Higher numbers are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_cannell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing