We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, close to the University”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money, close to the University”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here by myself the night before bringing my daughter home from University just before Christmas. A really attractive building and friendly staff, even though I arrived quite late. Room was very warm and welcoming, bed was very comfortable. Good value for money and I felt like I was being spoilt. very convenient for the University about 20 minutes walk away

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allibob65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    443
    149
    72
    36
See reviews for
231
659
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were married at this hotel last week, and I can only say that we found a true gem. It was the most perfect day from start to finish. The staff are utterly professional, from Kate and Sophie, who dealt with my bridezilla tendancies, to Rob who was the master of ceremonies and who put us completely at ease and made the day such an amazing experience. We felt that the day was handled so well from start to finish, we could just relax and enjoy our day knowing that all the details were taken care of on our behalf. Many of the guests have commented that its the most perfect wedding venue that they have ever seen. The grounds are stunning and the photos cannot fail to look beautiful in this environment. The food and service received during the wedding breakfast was gorgeous, all the guests commented on how beautiful it was.

Once again, I thank you for making our day so magical. If you are looking for a wedding venue, you need to look no further than this hotel.

We are looking forward to coming to see you soon, we can have a gorgeous cream tea, and relive our perfect day.

Thank you to the whole team.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the courtyard or gardens are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaticano, Huila, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a "Girls'" weekend away. Lovely old building, nice clean rooms (although the Indian-themed bedroom was a bit dark and oppressive, it did provide for some amusement). Excellent breakfast, lovely helpful staff, especially Michael on reception who redeemed the hotel's mess-up after someone had seen fit to swap one of our confirmed twin rooms for a double (why do they do that?). That being the only irritation, we had a lovely time, and the hotel is really convenient for getting into the city centre, as there is a park & ride stop just outside.
Added to which, Andy Murray won Wimbledon while we were there, so a great trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist they don't swap you from your chosen room type!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstrellis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My daughter was married there yesterday and would thoroughly recommend it. Many years ago had a very bad experience there and was sceptical about returning, but could not fault it. Everything went according to plan and the gardens were lovely as were the staff and the hog roast was divine. Only fault I would comment on is that you need to take out a mortgage to buy the drinks.

Room Tip: Never stayed in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgapolovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem, yes I agree that in hot weather air con is probably a must and I also think that hotels would benefit from having plug sockets next to the beds instead of across the room, but these are things that could never ruin staying somewhere like this. The hotel itself is well maintained, clean and has plenty of lovely staff all the way through and nothing is too much bother. We had 2 ground floor rooms around the lovely courtyard of the old stable block and everything was peaceful and relaxing. Eating in the bar was lovely on warm evenings and their range of dishes showed there was something for everyone, and even if what you wanted wasn't there they would look at having it made for you, which is great when you don't want a heavy meal in the hot weather we've been having. The hotel has many wedding packages and these are very popular, so if coming on the weekend it may be wise to check if there is a wedding as I would think that the otherwise ample parking would be at a premium in this case. We are definitely looking forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleckie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent a weekend here for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is well maintained and full of character, pretty gardens and good facilities.
It is very much geared up as a wedding venue which is probably why it's so well presented. I was worried that we would feel like second class citizens as we were not part of the wedding taking taking place but we were still well looked after at breakfast and upgraded to a four poster room which was beautiful.
It's a great base to explore the city either on foot or by bus.
We would also recommend The House of the Trembling Madness for a quirky lunch in town and El Gaucho for a fantastic Argentinian steak meal in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydays29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night on 7 th July. Not sure what to expect as Best Western hotels have a very mixed standard. We were pleasantly surprised, a lovely set out hotel that gives an alfresco feel particularly on a sunny day. The staff are well trained, tentative and always with a smile. Our room was small but spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. Though we did not eat at the hotel we did have breakfast which was lovely. Though a bit out of the city centre it is worth it, there is a bus that stops outside the hotel goes into the city for £2.10.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing