We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have just returned from a one night stay at the York pavilion hotel. We were attending a wedding at the hotel, so decided to stay over night. Our overall experience was excellent. The hotel itself was was very clean with nice a decor. The bar and lounge areas had a very looked after and homely feel. Our room, which was a standard room, was a good size and I was was pleasantly surprised to see a walk in wardrobe/dressing room in there. The bedroom and ensuite were absolutely spotlessly clean.
As a wedding venue I would say it was perfect, especially if you wanted to have a Low key wedding, as the convention rooms were not too big. The staff were all very pleasant and attentive to their guests. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to have a short break in York, as it is in an ideal location close to the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knightingale76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and can only support the positive comments made by previous reviewers. We were comfortable and the room was well maintained. The staff were all extremely pleasant, welcoming and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. The local '7' bus made getting in and out of York very easy as it was a very frequent service. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My Farther And I stopped at this hotell for lunch on the way home from a day in York. The first thing that stuck me as odd were the scruffy bar staff in jeans and tshirt hanging around one member in uniform.
We ordered drinks but we had to wait a long time and nobody offered to bring them outside once they were ready despite the fact my Farther is old and struggles walking. No body cme to take our food order so I went back in and ordered there seemed more confusion with the ordering system on the till.
The lunch took fourty mins to come when it did my steak was over cooked and it was poor cut of meat compounding the problem making it dry and chewy. My chips did not turn up and I had to leave my meal to go in search of them. No body came to ask how the meals were or if would like mor drinks , so off I went for the third time to order more drinks. If it had not have been a long time since my ill farther had been out of lunch I would have made more of a fuss but I did not want to spoil our day out. All in all expected much better service and food was average have eaten better at half the price. We looked at this venue 12 months ago for our wedding very glad we gave it a miss !!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank timg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were impressed by the welcome we had when enquiring about holding our small "family and friends" wedding here. Throughout the planning Kate was amazing and made us feel both special and confident that the whole event would run smoothly. The day was absolutely fantastic and could not have gone better. Words cannot express how pleased we were with everything. The room was very comfortable and had plenty of character. The only slight disappointment was the quality of the breakfast and the fact that items were not replenished when empty. They had held 3 weddings the day before and I know the hotel was very full so maybe some mitigating circumstances.

Overall rating - out of this world! Made our day so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve0462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just enjoyed a perfect weekend in York. This hotel was lovely. We were given a free upgrade to a room with a 4 poster bed. On arrival we were told that the room was above the function room holding a wedding on Saturday. We were not at all bothered as we intended to be enjoying the nightlife of York and anyway the noise levels were not at all bothersome
.
The breakfast was good and the location great of the hotel perfect. We parked the car at the hotel on Friday (after a quick stop at the Designer Outlet a mile away) and didnt use it again until we were returning home on Sunday.

The hotel is a flat and easy 20 minute walk from the City Centre and across the road is a bus stop where numerous buses stop (about every 10 mins) during the day time : £1.45 into town.

I would recommend this hotel. I would also recommend very highly visiting the "Hosue of Trembling Madness" pub .on Stonegate. You need to be sharp eyed to spot it as the entrance is through an off licence and up some stairs where it opens into an amzing bar selling craft and imported beers including Belgian Trappist and "Kwak" on draught.

Cant wait to go back for more of the same.

Room Tip: If you dont mind being over the function room you can get a 4 poster room with a balcony view of the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burtontricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visiting York is always a great experience especially if you have your car safely parked and you can make use of excellent public transport links to this lovely city from outside the hotel. The Pavilion ticks all the boxes. Lovely building, comfortable public areas and rooms, nice gardens, good value for money for York. Food of good standard although evening meal prices are high. Eating out in a city centre restaurant offers alternative as there is good taxi access.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side or rear of hotel are quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was two miles outside York and the Park & Ride bus stopped outside the hotel, which was convenient as parking in York is difficult. The hotel was a grade 2 listed building and the interior decor, and the gardens suited the ambiance of the hotel. The room was very clean, had all the necessary facilities and we both enjoyed two very peaceful night's sleep. The choice of menu at both Breakfast and Dinner were excellent and more than ample for our appetites. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and very professional and the way they tended to our needs was great. Overall it was good value for money but on the downside I was surprised when told that there was a limit of £50.00 per couple at dinner - this information needs to be put on the Best Western site for on-line booking of a DBB stay.

Room Tip: Standard double room overlooked a quiet garden patio area
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scousealtrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $100 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing