We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway to York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Getaway to York”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a four night break and it was a lovely base to explore both York and the surrounding areas. There is a lovely riverside walk which takes you into the town. The room was spacious with a four poster bed and a good size ensuite. We didn't eat in the hotel - other than breakfasts which were plentiful. The only criticism I would have is that the tables were pushed very close together at breakfast and it was a little uncomfortable from a proximity point of view, but the staff were happy and helpful. The hotel is apparently used for functions and business meetings/events and sometimes there was a wait at reception whilst these visitors were being dealt with. Despite this it is a beautiful building with beautiful courtyard gardens. We would stay the again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortoiseQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    423
    146
    71
    36
See reviews for
225
642
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the York Pavilion Hotel. The room was very comfortable with a huge bathroom, and gorgeous 4 poster bed.
We ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal, the service was fantastic, just at the right level - discreet enough but on hand when you needed service. Food was great. I had the special - duck which was lovely - maybe could have had a little more (greedy me!) - but dining guests had fish & chips which was fabulous (as I ate some of that!) Partner had the steak special - really lovely tender - melt in the mouth beef, he really enjoyed it with a fabulous red wine! Pudding great - not too much just right amount for us - then cheese - lovely!
The room was exceptional. the bed so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it! Pillows (of which I am very fussy and often travel with my own!) just gorgeous.
Breakfast was busy (sat morning) but staff excellent and coped really well. Girl who served us was lovely, and watching her; she was fab with every customer - especially a gentleman in a wheelchair.

Overall would definitely recommend this hotel- lovely homely feel to it. staff really try to accommodate. Great Location especially for the York Marathon as so close to the University!

Room Tip: Not sure it really matters - all rooms are fantastically furnished, with a real 'exclusive'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked to stay here a couple of days beforehand as an impromptu night away, we were not disappointed. The room was clean and had what we would expect from a hotel of this standard, the bathroom was clean and although there was no hot water when we checked in it was piping hot that evening, a cotbed and quilt was provided for our 1year old which was also clean, and meant we didn't have to take ours with us, room service was lovely and tasty and the wine per glass was reasonably priced.
It wasn't too far away from York and had it not been raining when we arrived we would have walked into the town centre, but it was a short 10 min drive.
The breakfast had plenty of choice and was well stocked, it was nice to see fresh fruit rather than tinned and there was plenty of choices of cereal or toast and spreads, we aren't into having cold meats and cheese etc for our breakfast but I did notice they did have that too, they also had large croissants which you rarely see in hotels anymore its usually the mini ones.
Our breakfast order was taken at the table and when it arrived it was lovely, not greasy with plenty on it, although I do like beans with my cooked English breakfast it was still enjoyable.. Our daughters cereal was heated up for us and we never felt rushed at all..
The staff were very polite, very helpful and we had no problems checking in even tho we arrived early our room was ready and we were shown to it straight away.
We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the summer but for 2 nights next time.
Many thanks for a most enjoyable overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room we had one at the back of the hotel and although it had patio doors which aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as we held my daughter’s wedding reception here – Feb 13. Although we were very pleased with the proceedings of the day, from the initial event staff all the way through to reception and serving staff on the day service levels at this hotel are outstanding and nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

Just a massive shame about the bedroom which we stayed overnight in and looking back I now wished that I’d saved my money (£126.00 per night including breakfast which was discounted) and that we had taken a taxi ride home instead. Perhaps I should have asked for a different room on the day however as parents of the bride checking in on the day - the proceedings of the day took over and there wasn't enough time and it didn't seem priority on the day.

The room which we were issued was very dated and the bathroom was mouldy. The room was clean but you couldn’t help but feel it was dirty due to the mould in the bathroom and carpet was old so didn’t feel comfortable walking around bare footed.

I did mention my dissapointment on my departure to which the receptionist did say that she would feed back my comments however I am still left feeling disappointed and wanted to make anyone else who is holding their event here aware that it may be worth looking to see if it is possible to book specific bedrooms for themselves and guest as some of the bedrooms here are lovely and this would avoid you feeling as dissapointed as I still do.

Room Tip: Lower court yard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

it was very welcoming, the room was small but beautifully furnished and quiet. great breakfasts, very helpful staff. although its not in the centre the bus stops right outside or its a shrt taxi ride in to the centre. tasty breakfast - the poached eggs were great.

Room Tip: room 12 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A rare treat these days - my room had a real radiator that got good and hot. OK, so the room wasn't decorated to the latest fashion but it was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable which is all I want. The whole style is comfortable country house, so trendy minimalism wouldn't work. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and served promptly to my table, so much better than jumping up and down to the buffet! I have 2 suggested improvements - radio 4 available please, and do ask that female receptionist not to speak as though she's doing the announcements on a plane. I twice had to ask her to repeat what she'd said. Yes, I would and shall go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - mine overlooked a an internal courtyard, but some may front the busy Fulford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed March 2013, arrived early evening asked for a morning call, which never came. The room was tired, the chain on the door broken, the television controller did not work, The breakfast the next morning was a shambles. I had to ask twice for toast, for instance, and it only came after I was finished my main course. The only potential excuse is that the hotel was busy with a wedding party. Still, for the price it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing