We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre xmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
west staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pre xmas break”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

stayed here for two nights on bed and breakfast basis. got upgraded room on arrival and stayed in frankie howerd room. the room was quite large with queen size bed and nicefully decorated. we found the staff very polite and helpful and were given times of buses etc. into york. breakfast was very good plenty of choice for both hot and cold. very well situated for getting into york by car or bus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    444
    149
    72
    36
See reviews for
231
660
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Hi all
My wife and I stayed just the one night and the hotel was packed with a wedding and Chistmas parties. We were upgraded to a feature room and it was tastefully decorated the staff were under a lot of pressure with the amount of customers in the hotel and every member we had contact with we're polite and I have no complaints the breakfast was expensive but quality
I would return again

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we last stayed we had a bad room and dined out. This time we had a refurbished room and ate in. Really enjoyed the stay. The room wasn't big, but was comfortable. The staff, every one of them were brilliant. Dinner was also excellent in a cosy dining room with nice open fireplace. Starters of Chicken Liver Pate and Warmed Black Pudding Salad with a poached egg on top. Main Courses - Trio of Sausages and Mash and Pan Roast Rump of Lamb washed Down with a bottle of Nero Davola - mmmm. A good nights sleep and then a lovely cooked breakfast in a different dining room also with a nice open fireplace. Thank you and well done to everyone at the hotel. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

York is one of my favourite cities to visit and especially now that my daughter is at the University here. This is my 4th visit to York and the Pavilion Hotel is the 4th hotel I have stayed in as I like to try a different hotel. York Pavilion Hotel is definitely one of the best in terms of character and location. It is very close to the university at Heslington, close to the city centre and close to the Designer Outlet where I like to hang out.
I must say, the front desk staff were so helpful, very polite and pleasant. The restaurant serves excellent food that my daughter and her friend were so impressed, the service was amazing! The staff were courteous and very professional. The breakfast is cooked to order so it's always fresh and tasty, something the other hotels I stayed in, didn't do. While waiting for the breakfast being cooked, you can help yourself with sliced fruits, a variety of fruit juice and cereals to choose from, you can also make toast and the tea or coffee are served to order so they're always hot. The room was good with exposed beams adding to the character of the place. And there is a free-wifi too which is a bonus for people like me who wants to keep in touch with friends while away. I booked for a twin bed because I was hoping my daughter could come and stay with me but her friend at Sheffield university came to stay with her at her university dig so I stayed on my own although I paid for two. As there was a big party happening that night, I was moved to a different room to where I was originally allocated and was given a double bed in order to be away from noise which I thought was very thoughtful. I didn't realise there was a bus to the city just outside the hotel otherwise I would have taken it, but then I didn't ask. I will definitely use the bus next time I stay here as the traffic to the city can be bad at busy times of the day. I drove to the city to pick my daughter's friend from the railway station and it took me over half-an-hour when it should only take 5 minutes.
Last time I was in York, I climbed the Minster Tower with 275 steps. It was hard work as the spiral steps are quite steep especially as you get nearer to the top but is it well worth the climb. The view when you get to the top is amazing. It will cost £6 and I recommend booking in advance.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for character and charm, although not for people with mobility problem as I could not see a lift to bedrooms upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Visited this hotel in October of this year for a short weekend break, having not visited York before.
The hotel is in an excellent location in walking distance from the town centre. The hotel itself was excellent could not fault it at all, friendly staff, a lovely room and free car park. Also a very nice breakfast. All in all had a great weekend i would definitely recommend this hotel and would also stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandadavis_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We love to visit York but it isn't always easy to find somewhere affordable and in a good position. We finally found the place! On arrival and right through our stay all the staff were eager to please and nothing was too much trouble. The room was gorgeous with a lovely 4 poster bed plenty of room for clothing to be hung and put away and a massive vathroom, with a great shower.
We drove to the hotel but driving in York isnt great so we were happy to find a bus stops almost outside the hotel and it takes you right into York! Bonus! The same bus will also take you to the designer outlet mall.
The food at breakfast was lovely and cooked fresh to order, not sitting under lights.
The dinner menu is excellent and on the night we ate there, we found it rivals many fine dining restaurants.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has a unique theme, ours was Grandad Wooley and had a fishing theme (very quaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a midweek break at the York Pavilion and found the hotel excellent. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building and the style and interior decor reflects this, every staff member was friendly and attentive.
Celebrating our anniversary the hotel had kindly allocated us room 4 which was one of the bridal suites, room was large plenty of space, massive comfortable bed and good sized bathroom.
Breakfast served at the hotel was very good and staff were fantastic with our 18 month old daughter offering colouring books etc to keep her entertained.
Location of the hotel is just outside the city of York but only a short bus journey, free car parking was good also, if you do drive into York parking is expensive and can be difficult when busy.
York is a beautiful city with many attractions we visited York Castle museum, York Minster, National Rail museum and the Art Gallery in 2 days, shopping is excellent and there are many restaurants and bars to keep everyone happy.
Would definitely return to York again and would highly recommend the 3 star York Pavilion to family and friends, remember if it is character and charm you want from a small hotel to look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbarclay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing