We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,144)
Filter reviews
2,144 results
Traveler rating
436
795
531
225
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
795
531
225
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station extra pillows free parking would stay again york centre min walk short stay walk in shower bed was very comfortable tea and coffee making facilities car parking couple of nights stayed for one night within easy walking distance full english yogurt micklegate
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,144 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Can’t fault this place
Position in York
Near Station
Breakfast tops
Staff amazing
Leanne & Charlotte both incredible - smiling helpful
Nothing too much trouble
Stay here
THANKYOU SO MUCH IBIS
Joined up Accor scheme because of this stay

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jennyl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You so much for your lovely review of ibis York Centre, Leanne and Charlotte will be delighted to get a mention also. We are all so pleased you had such a good stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Shabby hotel which could do with a refurb. At the weekend, the primary guests were hen parties.Very narrow single beds in a twin room. Taps didn’t work in the ladies toilet in the reception area. Bathroom shower was very temperamental. Front doors were not locked at 11pm as we were informed and we had to walk through a large group of intimidating men smoking outside to get into the hotel at night. On the positive , the hotel is in a quieter part of the city and minutes walk from the station. Despite being in a room on the main road, there was no road noise. We had a good nights sleep. Very pleasant reception staff.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Nimbus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank You for your review of ibis York Centre, I am sorry a few things did not quite make your stay great and I have shared these with the team for action and resolution. We are currently awaiting planning from the local council to begin a huge refurbishment of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a much improved experience.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night. As a budget hotel we did not expect anything particularly special however I WOULD expect quiet, safety and comfort. The hotel offered none of this: Our room (119) was downright dangerous - no warning whatsoever that as soon as we opened the door, we would be met with five steep steps into the main part of the room. Furthermore, next to one of the twin beds a bedside table was missing, and very sharp screws sticking up, where it should have been replaced.
The noise level in the hotel is unacceptable. We simply wanted a quiet night after a long journey, but no chance of sleep due to the hotel accepting the playing of very loud music.
This is NOT a family budget hotel (£125...) and caters for those attending stag or hen nights in the city.
I would strongly suggest for those seeking a budget hotel - go to Premier Inn or Travelodge, where safety standards are far more paramount...And where quiet is encouraged.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank suelwinch2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You for your review of ibis York Centre, We are sorry your stay was disturbed by other guests-We do employ security at weekends to manage this and I will share your comments with them. Thank You for letting us know about the bedside table I will get this attended to. I am sorry the layout of your room was also not to your liking, we would have happily moved your room if we had known. We look forward to welcoming you back in future for a much improved experience.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed with 4 friends and we were given adjoining rooms. Absolutely perfect for our weekend away. Clean rooms and hot tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly helpful staff. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank YorkieCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are all delighted you and your friends had a good stay with us and enjoyed our "hearty" breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast,very good .Our first room the floor was filthy ,so they put us in another room and that floor was filthy too never been cleaned.also bathroom was dirty ,The manager did give us free breakfast but it is very poorly run.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank a29642018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank You for your valuable feedback, I am sorry the cleanliness was lacking on this occasion and as I said to you at the time the housekeeper and external company were given your feedback and acted upon it. I did speak to you at the time and I compensated you in line with our company policy. We look forward to welcoming you back for a much improved experience in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews