We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,134)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveler rating
436
788
530
224
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
788
530
224
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationextra pillowsfree parkingwould stay againyork centremin walkshort staywalk in showerbed was very comfortabletea and coffee making facilitiescar parkingcouple of nightsstayed for one nightwithin easy walking distancefull englishyogurtmicklegate
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017

It was OK for what we paid, but room was tiny, shower barely worked and when it did it was either boiling hot or freezing cold. The Ibis is generally a great hotel but this one wasn't much cop. The pool table was great though even though I lost but hey at least we had fun

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianaRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are in the process of planning to update all areas of the hotel and indeed the repainting of public areas has started. We do hope to welcome you back soon for a much improved experience.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Myself and partner both stayed at this hotel this weekend for a chill weekend .
We got a warm welcome from the lady on the reception.
Couldn't cash as we didn't have photo id. There were other people with the same problem .
The room was clean .
Problem in bathroom was there was no soap at the sink .lucky I had fetched shower gel and used that to wash hands after using the loo.
Loo roll holder was not fixed properly to the wall.there was no spare loo rolls in the room .
The heater in the room struggled to keep the room warm .we put it on when we arrived and left it on full for all our stay.night and day .wouldn't like to be in that room (116) in the winter.
The bed was clean and well made.
We were disappointed in lounge as it was very cold .the only heating we saw was a small gas fire under the telly.
We planned on eating our evening meal at the hotel but soon changed our mind with how cold it was and also with no one else eating there .
We had a few drinks at the bar but we went out to find somewhere else to eat .
We went to the long boat just down the road .the service was amazing and the food very good .we both had a loverly evening there .

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank luckyman545720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You very much for your kind review of ibis York Centre and for highlighting a few points. I have shared these with the key team members for immediate action and improvement. We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Great service, from the greeting, cleaning, dining and bar use; accessible hotel from all attractions of York; we will certainly use it again for leisure too-breakfast was excellent and yet it was quiet even on the main road

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gatesey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for your lovely review of ibis York Centre, The team and I are delighted you had such a good experience with us here at the hotel and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

I cannot believe this hotel belongs to the Ibis brand. A frequent user of Ibis hotels (Budget, Ibis & Styles) I was extremely disappointed in this hotel.

Location is brilliant, a short walk down Mickelgate into the Centre of York. The reception & bar areas are really nice too including a room with a pool table. Reception & bar staff are friendly, welcoming & a total contrast to the rest of the hotel.

The rooms are basic, same as all other Ibis hotels. However, the room cleanliness is something which does not meet the standard of other Ibis hotels. Immediately upon entering the room you could smell damp. On the window the mould and damp was clearly visible, to the point where 4 ladybirds had camped on the inside of the corner. I did not go down to complain because we were only there for 1 night and would not be in the room too long. However, at £140 per night you expect a lot better.

The carpet in the room was threadbare and did not meet up with carpet tracks meaning the dusty concrete floor was visible. The bathroom door was tired with chips and cracks and the handle not securely in place on the inside.

Parking was fine for us as we arrived around 10:30, £7 for 24 hours. Reasonable.

Breakfast was reasonably priced with english breakfast options as well as continental options & cereals.

As an accorhotels member, I am extremely disappointed in the standard of this hotel. However, I ask one thing... please do not judge Ibis from this hotel. Its a rare occurrence.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for your detailed review of ibis York Centre, I am truly sorry on this occasion the standards fell short of your expectations, we are currently planning to refurbish all areas of the hotel and we hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Hotel as expected clean, basic and comfortable for a short break.Car park charge and extra charge for breakfast but food was good and plenty of choice.Within walking distance of city and station (10 to 15 mins)and many pubs and restaurants to choose from.Staff were friendly and helpful.Noticed that there was access for wheelchairs too. Overall had an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Holroyd, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for your kind review of ibis York Centre, We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

John Holroyd

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews