We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had one of the special deals which meant we paid £92 for 2 nights lodging and our ratings are accordingly higher than if we had paid full price. We were given a family room so there was plenty of space and seating. The shower was a bit tempremental but I eventually got the right setting.

The main complaint was the noise level of the passing traffic which being close to traffic lights also meant vehicles accelerating and braking. Ibis could do nothing about this of course but the sound proofing between floors needs attention. We were on the second floor and when the person above us on the third floor walked across the room it sounded as if he/she was walking in our room it was so loud.

All of the staff were friendly, helpful and took their time in listening to your needs.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back which might help with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments.
Should you wish to stay again with us in the future please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel and we will be able to allocate you a room at the back of the hotel, which should make for a restful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    683
    445
    186
    129
See reviews for
205
935
97
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Went to York for my birthday and paid £90 for one night at this what can only be described as a hovel.

£90 for ONE night is not budget. The reception is OK. And the bar area looks good, LOOKS good, go and spend some time in the bar and reception area and you will see that it is cheap and tatty, poor finishing with paintwork and carpeting.

Got past the good LOOKING reception and the hallways and stairs are vile, incredibly uninviting. You feel like you are in a hostel, carpets are filthy, walls are dirty, doors broken and dirty, signage to rooms is cheap and holding onto the wall for dear life.

No the room, yuk yuk yuk, we had a room on the top floor, it was tiny, and half the room was unusable due to the steep slant of the roof. The kettle was about 20 years old. Bathroom dirty and depressing looking. The carpet, now the carpet was something else, it felt like fuzzy felt and looked filthy, there were stains all over it, it looked liked something that cost £5!!

Avoid this overpriced shabby excuse for a hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for posting your opinion of your time with us.
I am disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and had you have mentioned any of these points to us during your stay we would have had the oppertunity to discuss the issues you felt during your stay and also had the oppertunity to rectify them for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

1st Impressions were good, however little things you would take for granted at any other hotel charging nearly £100 a night like, no drawers for socks pants etc only a shelf set to high for shorties like my partner. All in one shower/wash gel, ran out first day and was not refilled. A shower that would only work hot or cold. Window blind broken unable to open with pull cord. Fixed this myself as could not be asked to go through long conversation at reception. The matress was so hard I actually woke with a backache! These things may sound petty but if your there for more than one night it becomes begin to grind. Wish I had goen to B&B

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.
I will mention your comments to my housekeeping and maintenance departments in order for improvements to be made wherever needed.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is a little under rated as me and my partner visit at least once every few months and for the money you pay it is highly valued, the hotel is clean and staff are great, rooms are faultless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaWilson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay.
I am pleased to hear that you return to us during your visits to York and look forward to meeting you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Went for a cheap cheerful night away in York and found the Ibis to be ideal for our requirements. Lovely cafés nearby for lunch and only a short 10 min walk to centre for our evenings wining and dining. Staff friendly, and aswell as being particularly pleasing on the eye the receptionist/bar person Megan was both chatty and engaging. Overall what you see is what you get and what you pay for, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed you recent stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to Megan, whom I'm sure will also be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing