We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York 2013”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed December 21, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,915)
There are newer reviews for Ibis York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We Stayed for three nights from 16th December ,Arrived at hotel lunchtime and had no problem parking in rear car park. Receptionists where polite and helpful during our stay. Our room at the front on the third floor was basic but clean, spacious and the bed comfy.The breakfast had a good variety and backed up by friendly staff. Location of hotel is excellent to sightsee

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrendeighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nbscotsgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Outside and the reception seem really nice when you walk in. Upstairs and the rooms are a lot different. The window might well not be there its that noisy. Im well aware its on a busy street but still too loud and the walls paper thin. Shower was either too hot or freezing. There were hairs in the bathroom. Staff on the front desk werent best either not acknowledging hello and goodbye.

Price for the room was too much with the 'Christmas tax' around £100 per night. I expect the simple things at least to be done.

A good location but thats it. York is great just not here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

I am dissapointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is budget hotel located close to York city centre and railway station, it has a modern, fresh bar and reception, on site parking and really good staff. The room was very clean with nice fresh bedding. The bed itself was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The shower was warm and powerful. I only stayed for one night on business and the price was very competitive and there is free on site parking which is a rarity for York. The staff were wonderful and a credit to the hotel. As you can see there are some positives.

However there are some negatives: The car park is very small and tight for space. On street parking or other car parking in the local area is very limited and expensive. The rooms are cold and tired with a distinctly 1980's feel. They are in desperate need of an overhaul. The room was also noisy in the morning as it overlooked one of the main routes into York. The bathroom is tiny and the air conditioner/heater didn't seem to do anything. The communal areas need a good refresh has everything just seems dated and a bit tired. The breakfast, whilst bountiful, was very poor.

With a decent refurbishment of the rooms the hotel could be a great budget location, however at present the whole feel (apart from the reception and bar/restaurant) is dated and tired.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I have taken on board the comments you have made and will ensure that these comments are passed on to the relivent departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

From the outside this hotel looked great. The reception and bar areas are bright clean and fresh look great. The girls on reception are helpful and very friendly. Then time for the room. Small dark and grubby. The room had coffee stains on the wall and also what looked like blood stains down the wall. The sofa had that many stains on it I even placed a towel on it before I put my case down. The bed was lumpy and sheets grubby. The shower room was small with dirty grouting. The carpet was dirty and I made sure I had my skippers on. This was my first visit to an ibis and will be my last.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

I am sorry that you found the hotel to not meet your needs during your stay.

I will ensure that all the points you have raised are investigated and improvements are carried out.

I can assure you that this is not the usual experience you will have in ibis hotels and hope that you will choose ibis in the future, for a guenuine hassle free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have stayed in a number of Ibis Hotels around the UK and found they fit our budget perfectly.
An average quality for an average budget.... Or so we thought,

We booked in for the Saturday and Sunday night ( Saturday being premium rate) and as this was an Ibis we thought we would be ok,but how wrong we were.
After a short wait at reception due to a stag party checking in ( which clearly panicked the receptionist) we made our way up to the first floor.We opened our door with the room key to be greeted with another flight of 5 stairs going down into the room ( something which wouldn't look out of place in Fawlty Towers!).
I never knew floorboards could make such a noise by walking on them.At this point I wasn't thinking Fawlty Towers I was thing more Hammer House of Horror.
It was the whole room and the outside corridor too,so when people walked outside the door you could hear the floorboards creaking until they had passed.
The room wasn't vacuumed the whole time we were there and the bedside table was hanging off so we couldn't put anything on it either,also the bed had a slight lean to it.It didn't look much of a lean but when you were in the bed you could notice it.
In the evening we went out for a meal and when we returned back to the room for the night thinking nothing else could go wrong, what a mistake that was.At about 1am the people in the above room came back after a night out and to our horror we found that the floorboards on the next level were as bad as our level.This meant that we had to listen to floorboards for about an hour until they went to sleep as they were walking about.
This has left a very bitter taste in our mouths as we think of them as one up from a Travelodge but to be honest I've never been in a Travelodge this bad.
The only positives I can think of is the Wifi and the breakfast area which looks recently renovated.

For the price we paid we could have found something better.

Room Tip: Pick the Travelodge down the road!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relivent departments in order to carry out improvements where necessary.

I hope that you will continue to use ibis hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#40 of 47 in York
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $68 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing