We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor and basic service”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed September 16, 2013

hotel room dirty. Cups dirty and not changed these should go through dish washer not just swilled out. Towels not changed and very small with nowhere to dry so already wet when you require. Breakfast food good when you can get any had to wait for milk, bread, knives, forks, spoons, plates and 20 mins for bacon this was two mornings on third morning went elswhere

Room Tip: go to other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am dissapointed to hear that you found your stay with us below your expectations. I will feedback your comments to the relivent departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hotel is placed in a budget category, with very clean rooms, ideal size, plenty of comfort for weary, indulging golfers from Tamworth. However the level of service is on par with De vere 5 star, quality & presentation of food was fantastic, the staff across the board from cleaner to Gaffer, were very friendly and provided tentative care and attention similar to your own Mother would provide. Hotel was situated 10minute walk into the town, with an array of pubs to quench your thirst on the way. I headed up the party of 15 golfers, they are fussy individuals but i never had one moan or gripe during our stay, only praise for Ibis, its staff and service, well done Ibis, your handicap has been cut due to an outstanding weekend performance..!!

Room Tip: On a group trip, work closely with a manager, express what you want and need..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for you kind message.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team are always on hand to offer the best possible service and it is always a pleasure to hear that this is what you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner, lovely place york, but its about a 20 min walk from the centre, which seems ages when its freezing. The hotel was your average hotel room was very clean. Value for money. Get what you paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-SouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for you comment on trip advisor. I have passed on you kind message to our housekeeping team. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Found this to be a lovely hotel with really nice rooms given the budget price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect with all the attractions of York within easy walking distance. The menu in the restaurant is limited and overpriced but this does not matter as there were a number of lovely small family restaurants close by and numerous pubs. we found somewhere different each night. (Recommend the Italian restaurant opposite as well as the Chinese close by). No problem parking either although we did arrive at lunchtime the first day. No need to move the car once parked.

Room Tip: if you prefer a shower cubical rather than a shower over a bath just ask. they have both
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your positive reveiw. I have passed on you kind message to our staff. I am glad you found the hotel to be close to all the attractions and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night booked over the internet, knew it was a bufget hotel but after stating in a few budget hotels of late i have to say ifound this one to be one of the better on the marjet place compared to travelodges for example. The hotel is very central so excellent position we gota parking space in tbe small carpark so life was good, check in was really bright and cheerie and the hotel i thought was spotless, our room was clean comfortable and exactly what we needed for a one night stay , so we would definately use again, the hotel is wuite modern on the ground floor but the carpets up stairs were a cery odd felt , patterned felt , quite odd , but for a £49 double im hsppy to let that fashion faux paux go! Overall clean , comfortable with friendly staff , does what it needs to .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCrackett-Bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for a positive reveiw. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and if you wish to book with us again please feel free to contact the hotel directly or book on our website to get the cheapest price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I'm a bit conflicted by this: on the one hand, the booking was very cheap, so it would be unreasonable to expect the highest of standards. On the other hand, I've stayed in a few Ibis Hotels, and while budget, they've always delivered a very good quality service, and with this in mind, I was quite disappointed with the York branch. Positives first: the location is very handy for the station, there are some nice places to eat nearby (esp the Pig and Pastry - fab breakfast), the bed was big and comfy, the shower was great and the walls between the rooms were well sound-proofed. Sadly a few negatives: there was nowhere to unpack our suitcases and put our things, apart from a tiny rail with two coat hangers on it - not even a drawer. The doors won't close without making an almighty bang, which was very disturbing at night. The room wasn't particularly clean or smart - the carpet was very dusty around the edges, and there was peeling paint and scuff marks on the walls and doors. Unless it was overhalued, I don't think I would stay there again. It's cheap for a reason.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonTravels1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am glad you found the hotel close to the town centre and a good location to the station. If you do wish to book with us in the future please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and i will be able to get my reception team to pre allocate your room to a larger room in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Great if you want to be central but with a reasonable price. Reception staff friendly, the rooms are adequate, spacious and comfy bed. 12.00 check out was helpful as well.Only negative is the ironing room-get a new board!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobble333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am glad that you found the hotel location suited the purpose of your stay. If you wish to return to us you will always find our cheapest prices on our website or direct with the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $59 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing