We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good attendance and clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good attendance and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel has a good attendance in the reception. We asked to print some tickets of our flights and they were ready to help printing all for us.
The room was very clean and this hotel has a very good cost benefit. The unic negative point was the noise of people walking and talking on the corridors.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaraAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for leaving such positive comments regarding the reception team at the hotel. Any member of staff are willing to go the extra mile and I'm pleased to hear that it was noticed during your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    677
    438
    184
    129
See reviews for
205
924
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I have just han another very pleasant stay in the IBIS Hotel York. Customer Service was excellent and the hotel was spotless as usual.
Stayed in Room 326 which had a skylight as a window, slightly small room and basic but clean and bright.
A nice warm fire welcomed us back at night and beerwhilst quite expensive was the best pint I had over my 2 day stay.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank shelley034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us at ibis York.

I am pleased to hear that yet again you enjoyed your visit to the city.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend in York, we wanted somewhere accessible for exploring the city. Lovely front and recpetion area, further into the hotel the age starts to show a little bit and the room was on the small side but perfectly ok for a couple of nights. The rooms and corridors had a slightly shabby feel to them but it's central and a god price.

Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and good quality bacon, coffee and was really great - set us up for a day of walking!

We never got a space in the car park, staff directed us to a pay car park next to a taxi office which charges £7.50 for 24 hours however there is free on the street parking in the other direction - about a 6 mintue walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us during your recent visit to York.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here with my son, the hotel is in a great location, but the evening meal was dreadful. The breakfast was better but still not that good. I would only book a room there if I stayed there again, the food was not worth paying for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Brightonjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased to see that you were happy with the location of the hotel.

I have passed on your comments to the food and beverage supervisor, who has sent his apologies for any dissapointment you had with the food at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived quite late, Lauren on reception was fantastic and looked after us very well. Room disappointing bed OK but hard pillows and no alternative, shower fine but bathroom small, room too warm and thermostat not working, black out blind broken.Had dinner on first night, service terrible, food worse some of my party had to take their 3rd choice as the restaurant had ran out - and it wasn't cheap. Funnily enough breakfast was quite good but pricing structure confusing...£7.95 pp if you booked in advance, on my second morning 2 of us eat and it cost £6 pp on 3rd morning 4 of us eat and it cost £5 pp! Location very good but to be honest i think you would be better in the Premier Inn or Travelodge both of which are close. Even for a budget hotel this Ibis was disappointing.

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review.

I will pass on your kind words to Lauren.

My maintenance manager and food and beverage supervisor will look into the issues that you have mentioned and carry out immediate improvements are carried out where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the hotel as part of a group booking so we could meet a friend from New Zealand.
On arriving you could not faulter the reception staff who booked in our small group.
It was an overnight stay and I had room 206. The room had a double bed and I got a great nights sleep, you cannot faulter the TV advertisement regarding getting a good nights sleep. Storage for your clothes was limited along with where you could sit. Certain facilities on the TV did not work. The bathroom was spotless and had a bath/shower not suitable for a person with epilepsy.
The food was excellant, evening meal and breakfast, and also has a good bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review regarding your recent stay.

Thank you for bringing to my attention the issues you have with the TV in your room, I will bring this to the attention of my maintenance manager, in order to rectify any issues in the room.

Should you wish to stay with us again in the future please feel free to give the hotel a call prior to your stay or mention on check in that you would rather have a room with just a shower rather than a bath and shower. The majority of our rooms have a shower cubical, so this issue can be easily rectified to better suit your health requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room I booked for 2 nights with breakfast was a very good price considering the area and dates I stayed. All staff were very friendly and our room was very clean on arrival. It would have been nice to have wi-fi in nthe hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JJROSS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay.

I am glad to see that enjoyed your time with us.

Please be advised that we are having our WiFi updated during the summer, so during your next stay you should find that the WiFi service is a lot stronger in the rooms rather than only being available in the public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing