We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Bishopton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A first class location , 10 minute stroll to town, good bars ,restaurants nearby . Hotel staff good not be more welcoming. I was in charge of a group of 18 people, the staff could not be more helpful from check- in to check -out.
Dont be put of by the small lifts the rooms are decent and clean ,breakfast was good.

I work out of York for business, I have found my new accom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David115_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you have had such a positive 1st experience with us.

When you book with us again in the future please either visit the ibis web site or call Lisa direct at the hotel for the best available rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    692
    456
    190
    135
See reviews for
212
954
98
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night, but that was enough. The lobby looks good - clean and modern - but the problems start at check in and get far worse when you open the door to your room. The receptionists seemed far more interested in carrying on with their conversations than with checking people in which made the whole process painfully slow. Away from the lobby, the whole hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. The corridors are horrible, and the rooms not much better. My room was dirty (especially the carpet and bathroom) and the sheet did not seem to fit the bed. Moreover, the walls were paper thin so it was very difficult to get any kind of rest (or sleep).

One to avoid.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

It does seem that you felt let down by the reception team upon check in, for which I apologise. I will of course investigate this issue you found with the reception team, but I would like to state that this is very out of keeping with the usual comments I recieve regarding any of my team.

I am sorry that the corridors and bedrooms were not to your taste, decor does always depend on personal taste.

I will pass on your comments to my head housekeeper and ensure that improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

staff excellent, rooms excellent, good all round hotel. downside no free wifi tv channels very limited unless you pay extra, designed to make extra revenue. some of the cooked breakfast nearer cold than hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank William Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you were not informed during your stay that we have free Wi Fi in our public areas of the hotel and I will pass on your comments to my food & beverage supervisor, who will ensure that the breakfast is piping hot for every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is within easy reach of York centre. It has bars and restaurants close by. it has its own free car park. The hotel itself is adequate. The bedroom seemed a bit tired, though it was clean and the bed comfy. Breakfast had a good choice, though on the 2 mornings we were there the 'hot selection' was barely warm. Staff were all very pleasant, efficient and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that enjoyed your stay with us.

I will passon your comments to my food and beverage supervisor, who will ensure that the breakfast served daily is keep to the very beast of standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels around the world, but the staff at the Ibis in York we're amongst the friendliest that I have ever come across, a real credit to the company.

The only downside to the stay was that the new beds do seem quite narrow and I'm not particularly big, and although I found them comfortable the width negated a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank john_grimwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for very positive comments regarding your stay.

My staff do work very hard to give every guest a great experience at the hotel, so I am pleased to hear that their efforts have been appriciated.

I am dissapointed to hear that you found our beds too narrow for you during your recent stay, this is out of the ordinary for the usual comments we have regarding our new beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch-9012 St. Gallen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

the location is very good parking was also good
the service at the reception was adequate and friendly
the size of the room was OK - the carpet flooring was disgustingly dirty
the shower was large enough and clean
we stayed for 3 days and the bed was made but the floor was not once cleaned
the breakfast was skimpy, the sausage was dry at the ends, the fruitsalad was brown and not fresh, the english breakfast was OK except for the scrambled egg and the coffee good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hgreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for leacving your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you found the location and the parking facilities suited your needs during your stay.

I have passed on your comments to both my head housekeeper and food and beverage supervisor to see where improvements can be made for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Staff at reception were friendly & courteous. The rooms were extremely overheated to the point of being unbearable. A fan was provided which helped slightly. Room Service was poor. One day the duvet was pulled up over an unmade bed which upon being reported was kindly made by young girl from reception. This should never happen. An apology and a bottle of wine was given me. Overall the hotel is old, needs re carpeting, painting, and new floorboards etc. I stay in Ibis hotels frequently but would not stay at Ibis York again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback.

I'm pleased to hear that my reception team helped to rectify the issue you experienced with the housekeeping of your bed. I have spoken to my head housekeeper who will carry our retarining with her team.

I will pass on your comments to the relivent team when an upgrade of the hotel is due.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing