We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ibis York”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ibis York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent value for money, good sized clean rooms and in an excellent location
Only one minor irritation; there was no VAT number on the receipt, which is required s i was there on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksutton2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

In regards to your invoice not having a VAT number, it seems that your invoice was not printed on our usual headed paper. Should you still require a a VAT receipt please contact the hotel directly in order for us to post or e mail a copy for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    683
    444
    185
    129
See reviews for
205
934
97
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I paid £99 for a double room for 1 night, and what a rip off. The room is tiny, has an electric heater which is kept in a cupboard because there's no radiators. The tiles and sealer in the shower room are filthy and as for the curtains and carpets well they are fine if your from the 60's. talk about major disappointment. Oh yeh also you have 5 channels on tv and the wifi is £9.99 per night. Please save your cash and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

We provide an extra heater in our rooms because some guests do prefer to have their rooms warmer than others, this is an extra that we provide on top of the heating system we have in every room.

I will also inform my head housekeeper about the issues you have raised on your review of the hotel, who will of couse carry out improvments where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Second time to this hotel and the facilities,service and food has not changed at all.
Excellent yet again,couple that with the great location( town centre,takeaways,restaurant's and bars)look no further for great stay at a real budget price ( I got it for £28-50 per night)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rampantrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to once again stay with us at Ibis York.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first and we look forward to welcoming you back for you third visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Emphasis on the 'cheap' in cheap and cheerful. Firstly I'd like to say the girl on reception was very helpful and deserves a reward as there was no sight or sound of any manager! When I arrive checked in and walked to my room it was like walking through a prison, unkept and decor from the 70's! I was there on business and had to iron some shirts for work, no big deal you may think... They have an ironing room (still in cell block h style) and the iron was black and burnt, naturally leaving marks on my shirt. I explained at reception but there was no other iron so I just got an apology. I asked to speak to the manager but he/she obviously had better things to do and was not around. I didn't even stay the night but the receptionist was brilliant and have me an instant full refund. I'm now in a lovely, warm (and with my own iron) hotel at the same price. Lesson learnt, do your research and have a good look round. Ill never go near the ibis again in fact the experience has put me off the chain!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

Decor is always a down to personal taste and I'm sorry that you did not like our decor on during your recent visit.

Our ironing room is checked numerous times daily, in order to ensure that there is not damage to the facilities. Unfortunately we are unable to check this room 24 hours a day and if a guest burns the iron we do replace it as soon as we see any damage. I apologise if you found damage to the iron during your stay.

On the evening that you asked to speak to me, I had finished work for the day. As with any other day I am on call for my team to contact me at home which they did, in order for me to give authorisation to refund you for your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you found Leanne on reception helpful to you during your stay, I will pass on your kind words regarding her efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in January as a city/shopping break in York. The staff were friendly and I think it's great that you can park for free at the hotel. The hotel is a short walk from the city centre. The decor was the usual for Ibis style hotels. The room didn't seem to have been checked very well, light bulbs missing, pillow cases missed off etc. The heater had 2 wheels missing so had to be leant up against the wall. Overall, nothing major! Would stay again...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofhearts12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are followed up by my maintenence manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing