We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,136 results
Traveler rating
436
789
530
224
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
789
530
224
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationextra pillowsfree parkingwould stay againyork centremin walkshort staywalk in showerbed was very comfortabletea and coffee making facilitiescar parkingcouple of nightsstayed for one nightwithin easy walking distancefull englishyogurtmicklegate
Filter
Updating list...
1,731 - 1,736 of 2,136 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A cut above the usual Ibis hotel. Located 5 minutes walk from the old city walls, it blends nicely into the surrounding buildings. A bright reception area leads to an airy lobby with comfy seats round a fireplace. Check -in was quick and receptionist efficient and helpful. Our room was large and didn't have any fittings in that yucky Ibis green/blue colour. Breakfast was good value and there was plenty to choose from. Would recommend this hotel as an inexpensive option in a city that can be a bit on the pricey side for accommodation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lingy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Cheap hotel just a short stroll from central York.

The reception and restaurant area have had money spent on them but the rooms look tired except for the bathroom. Can be noisey due to paper thin walls and other inconsiderate guests late at night.

Stayed in several Ibis before and this falls below even their standards.

Staff very friendly and helpful and would probably only stay here again if on a really low budget.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a typical Ibis - it's very basic, but very clean and more than adequate for the needs of a budget traveler, with a great breakfast. The only problem is that if you stay over a weekend, the rooms can be very expensive. It is definitely worth the price if you have a flexible schedule (e.g. a student, especially a graduate student, or a retiree) and can stay over a weeknight, like Sunday-Monday, to get one of the lower rates. It is well located within walking distance of the old city. My travel companion and I were able to check out and leave our belongings in the hotel lobby's storage room while sightseeing, then returned by foot to get our bags and go to the train station (again, by foot) with no problems.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seyahateden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Staff where very friendly and welcoming throughout our 1 night stay, we chose to pay £5 each the night before to have the breakfast which was nice enough, lots to choose from, cereal, fruit yogurt toast all kinds of breads and spreads or sausages and bacon etc.
The downstairs restraunt and reception etc was lovely and obviously had been refurbished but its a real shame the rooms hadn't been done too. As soon as you get upstaris it looks like a different hotel, carpet as thin as paper in halways and room. The room was well equiped with hairdryer and flat screen tv on the wall with good picture.
The bed wasn't as hard and uncomfortable as the reviews i had read and i slept fine, however there where toe nails on the floor and also a pupic hair or two in the shower cubicle so the cleaner needs to be more careful. We reported the toe nails and where offered a new room but we said its fine as long as they are cleaned up, and they were.

No other problems in the bathroom, shower was nice and we did have an en-suite included for the price which was good value and the towels and sheets where all clean.

Don't expect 5 star you would be pushing it at 3 in the current condition, but it could be a lot worse and it really did feel like a hotel.

Overall it was still very good value for money and i would stay their again, but i wouldn't take children with me if i had any, its ok for a couple or a friends for a night out in the centre, also i wouldn't stay for more than a couple of nights, unless it was done up and made a little bit more pleasing to the eye.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here on Friday at £120 per night! So I thought it would be better than basic but no it was basic! Its tired looking from the carpets to the walls! Our room had no phone and the shower pressure was woeful! On the good side the breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly but my Husband nearly keeled over when I told him how much I paid - also the beds are not comfortable. It was clean but I wouldn't stay here again just too basic it didn't have that cosy feeling!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jologirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews