We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for sightseeing ...budget accommodation no frills.”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ok for an overnight stay. drains a bit whiffy!! Parking very poor but you can access parking at nunnery lane 24 hrs. Would recommend for cheap getaway. chipboard base for beds leaves a little to be desired. Main bar & restaurant look good - would like to see rooms of the same standard.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyMac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
There are newer reviews for Ibis York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,549 - 1,555 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

stayed in jan 2010 brilaint hotel had cheap deal for tv and internet no room service but great food great staff friendly had was comfty bed and clean!!!

Room Tip: got relly good deals
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel once before on a previous occasion and must say that on this stay the condition of the room was a lot poorer quality, the hot water didnt always work the shower had hardly any pressure to it, the heating was obviously not working as portable heaters were placed in the room. The carpet was quite dirty and the seal around the shower base was all black and mouldy. There was also a leak under the bathroom washbasin with a bucket placed there to catch excess water. However the staff were very polite and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The car park is very small for the size of the hotel and didnt manage to find a space over the two days there, which was awkward due to the on street parking nearby being for residents only. The location of the hotel is good with only a 15minute walk in to town. To say we paid £60/night i don't think it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I paid £67 for B & B during half term which is very good for York and excellent value for money. I have stayed here many times but this time I could not get in the car park this time. So get there early or park in the side roads. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast very good.
There is a Wetherspoons, Punch Bowl, just down the road and a Sainsbury's opposite.
For the money hard to beat in York! I'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

First impressions are very good. In fact the location and the ground floor including the foyer are excellent . However the low mark given by myself relates to the lack of beds. Underneath the mattress is a piece of MDF 'wood' with six all fitted poles. The surface of the MDF is a whole foot shorter than the mattress. If you slightly move whilst laid on too of it the creaking noises are unbearable. Outrageous excuse for a bed. Every single person we spoke to put the mattresses direct on the floor . If you are old or even slightly infirm then this is not an option so they have to suffer. As someone else has mentioned , the doors to each room are not softened for closing so there is a constant sound of slamming doors. Oh yes, the showers are very nice , however getting hot water out of them is a joke. The rooms were of good size. Come on IBIS, raise your game , considerably
Steve

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_G_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Having booked the Ibis, as a 'budget' hotel, I was a little worried at some of the reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. I needn't have worried. ...we arrived at 1pm, and as the car park to the rear was full we were directed to a pay and display 2mins walk away which was just £10 for 48hrs. The reception, bar and restaurant area was elegantly decorated and beyond my expectations. Yes, the corridors are looking a little tired, and maybe we were lucky with our room? It was basic, but extremely clean, as was the bathroom, which had a glass screen, rather than a curtain...perfect! There's a TV, tea/ coffee facilites, hanging space, shelves and extra pillows..nothing really was missing! Do your homework on prices...I actually booked a family room, (we only needed a double) which included breakfast, which was actually cheaper than a double room without breakfast!!?? The hotel rang 2nights before our arrival date to see if we needed a third bed for a child ...we didn't it was just cheaper! On arrival it hadn't shown on our booking that breakfast had been included, despite sorting it there and then, they did then try and charge us an additional £30 for our breakfasts as we checked out. Again, this wasn't an issue and was resolved immediately. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice with cooked breakfast being replenished regularly. .breakfast is available from 4am - 12pm.some days! Do not stay in room 136...it's right next to the door to the stairs/ lifts which bangs, but worse than that the floor boards outside the door were SOOO creaky, I can't imagine how someone could sleep through the noise of people coming and going!? We walked into York and back once for the day and once again to go out in the evening. It's a flat walk and takes about 1/2 hr, which is fine, unless like us you'd also spent the day pounding the streets of York...then it can become a little tiring.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goochie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glossop, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I chose this hotel at the last minute due to being unable to drive to the hotel i'd already booked. I was pleasently surprised the price was reasonable and the location excellant. I also booked breakdast for myself and my 11yr old daughter and there was a wide selection of food to choose from and the very busy waitresses were lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#40 of 47 in York
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $68 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing