We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the friendly greeting when we arrived and being shown to our room not just told where it find it to great breakfasts and lovely dinners what more could we want. Everybody was really pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. A little dated in decorations but it suits the hotel. Noisy fan in the bathroom could do with replacing. So much nicer than the impersonal chains.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 641 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

All staff very helpful & pleasant to talk to.
Rooms whilst smaller than most chains are what makes it special to stay in. Decor tasteful & not too kitch. Breakfast was really good, with good choices available.
The downsides, the pool was ok not too warm so ideal for a swim, but the steam room needs repair or updating. A sauna would be better. Please get staff who listen to customers at breakfast. I asked for another pot of tea not a bowl of cereal!
Would i stay again, a big yes. Nice touch to put spare tea coffee sugar & milk out overnight, especially as i do not drink alcohol.

Room Tip: Go with a friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffyevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the Kilima hotel many times on business trips and always found staff to be very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. This is not a modern 'chain' style hotel, but I much prefer the personal touch of this privately run hotel. All rooms are comfortable, my only criticism being showers could be better and would prefer a larger tv in room. Menus are good and they are willing to make changes to dishes to your personal preferences. Breakfasts are also very good with plenty to choose from. They also have their own free car park with plenty spaces, which is not the norm for York! Their swimming pool and small fitness room is quite impressive for a hotel of this size. All in, a good hotel, I always look to stay here when in York.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bighoss1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

There must have been different staff during our stay, because I don't recognise the ultra-helpful people in the other reviews. Our room was small, so was the bed, and the bathroom was tiny. The carpet looked grubby. As we were there to celebrate my 50th birthday, it was especially disappointing to be somewhere less than ideal. It's also a fairly long walk from the centre, about 15 minutes, so once you're out, you stay out. We didn't try the restaurant, but the breakfast was excellent (except the scrambled eggs, which are powdered and not nice.) The free car park and wifi are bonuses you don't get many other places. We didn't try the pool/sauna. The place has an air of neglect, from the stale smell to the worn carpets. We love York, and I had hoped that the Kilima would become our base for future trips, but the search for an affordable, comfortable convenient hotel in York goes on.

Room Tip: We had no street noise at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Took my daughter here for a weekend break prior to her having a baby and getting married for some mum/daughter time and shopping in York,the staff were wonderful,nothing was to much trouble,we had a chicken dish for out evening meal which was cooked to perfection.breakfast was almost as good,the bacon could have been better but everything else was lovely and plenty of it.The pool is a bonus although a little on the cold side,you do get used to it,I went for a swim everyday and finished off with a few minutes in the steam room,very refreshing after all that shopping. The hotel is close enough to walk into town but far enough away not to have all the noise although we could hear the road as our room was at the front,so if traffic disturbs you,you would need a room at the back. The floors are quite creaky but it is a beautiful old building full of character and as a bonus we had a four poster bed!(room 3) Overall a very relaxing stay and we would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Very close to the road so ask for a room at the back if traffic disturbs you. They have ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a weekend trip on 7th June 13. We are delighted with our stay.
We were welcomed at reception by Chris who was very friendly and helpful. He showed us to our room and explained everything about the facilities.
Our room (room 21) was spacious, quiet, light and clean, there were generous tea and coffee supplies and our bed was comfortable. Bathroom had a lovely powerful shower and was clean. The free WiFi could be picked up in our room also which was great.
We used the leisure facilities in the hotel and they were perfect. The swimming pool was clean and the temperature was just right. Changing areas were also very clean and had supplies of shampoo ect. The gym was well equipped too.
Breakfast was a hot, freshly cooked full English with a hot drink and toast. There was also fresh fruit, juices and cereal too. Delicious !
The hotel is a comfortable walk from the town and train station.
There is a big car park at the rear if you travel by car.
I can honestly say everything about this hotel is perfect.
I have not one negative thing to say apart from I wish we could of stayed longer.
Well done Best Western Kilima and thank you.
We will be returning soon. Patrick and Sarah x

Stayed: June 2013
Thank SRC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast were spot on (get the full English)The steam room and sauna felt amazing after a long walk around York and best of all were free of charge. The hotel itself was old and dated the floors creaked in the bedroom and corridors and the room/ensuite were so small. Over all I'd probably stay again but only if bigger more modern rooms are available.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwertyowen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: $106 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing