We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff friendly but hotel just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff friendly but hotel just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a 'girls' weekend in 2 twin rooms. The rooms were clean and warm, no complaints there. Bathrooms were clean if a little worn.
The hotel is old-fashioned and slightly frayed round the edges - could do with a face-lift,
There are stairs down to the bar and restaurant and no lift, so be aware if you have someone with mobility issues - my mother struggled!
We had dinner at the hotel the first night, the food was very expensive for a hotel of this standard - although nicely cooked and tasty.
Breakfast was average both days - some nice touches (croissant with scrambled egg & smoked salmon was lovely) but let down by having to keep asking for coffee refills - when you could find someone around to ask!
The pool was cold and small. The surrounding area not particularly clean.The seat in the turkish bath was broken. There was a sign outside the hotel offering membership to the health club - I wonder how many people sign up?
Overall impression is of a hotel being run on a shoe-string. The staff are all very helpful and all appear to work extremely hard but seem to be spread a bit thin.
Did I enjoy my weekend? Yes.
Would I go back to the Kilima? No.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    244
    56
    17
    10
See reviews for
86
308
28
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for weekend in March 2013.

We had a room with 2 doubles- would personally rather a king size. We went with friends and they had king size- so maybe call in advace and discuss beds. The manager is very friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for you.

Pool was good for a little dip- dont expect to be doing laps. I'm a bit of a gym bunny so promise of a 'fitness suite' was appealing, but a bit disappointing. A couple of old school cardio machines and some (light) dumbells in a very small, poorly ventilated room- wouldnt have liked to get a sweat up in there! But then who needs a gym when you can enjoy a lovely walk or jog in to York and down the river!

Big disapointment was breakfast. Only served until 9.30am on a Sunday! This inevitably means that everyone goes down at 9.15 and the waitresses just can't cope- which is a real pain as you cant help yourself, have to order everything through waitresses. Waited ages for coffee (cold) and toast (even more cold), and portions were on the reserved side. I might have asked for more but then I would probably have been waiting until lunch time to get it.

Room Tip: Call in advance to discuss bed arrangements and see if you can get money off if you dont have breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a lovely weekend stay in a great room large enough for a family of 5 - which is not always easy to find. Staff were all very friendly and the food and service were excellent.Everywhere was spotlessly clean and having a pool to entertain the kids was a huge advantage. We would not hesitate to recomend this hotel and would choose to stay there again. A special mention must go to Sammy, who worked tirelessly all weekend - thank you for making our weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked this hotel primarily as it had ample free parking, it is located close to the city centre and has a pool and a gym. Its only a 20 minute walk to the city centre but if necessary you can catch a bus (bus stop opposite hotel), nos 1 - for the Minster - and 10 - for the Jorvik and Castle Museums. Single fare costs £1.20.

We stayed for three nights on a bed, breakfast and dinner leisure rate. This was a great deal as we found B&B rates were a similar price! And also, this gave us an option of eating out if we wanted to.

The double room (room 18) was comfortable, although the extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy (bearings have gone!).

We had a relaxing swim in the pool followed by a session in the steam room. It is nice not to be overcrowded, like other hotels with leisure clubs.

The food was very tasty with generous portions and our favourite starter was the chilli prawns and main course of shoulder of lamb.

Will definitely book again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had been looking for a small hotel near York at this period of time. The only place available was the Kilima. I viewed the past reviews which appeared mixed.

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Chris which put us at ease. We arrived slighlty earlier and found our room was ready- lovely unexpected touch. Chris showed us around the hotel, dining and pool facilities with the access code to the changing room and was very efficient whilst being friendly. Only criticism there was the shortage of shower towels and with it being so early in the morning when we went for a swim a little surprised. We did find manage to find twotowels (must have been delivered whilst my partner got changed and went out for one) The room was clean, nice and had all the little touches I would have expected of this standard. I ordered a newspaper and it arrived. The hotel itself I found to be overall lovely and good distance from the city centre (15mins) which if travelling there on foot as a couple and chatting and taking in the view, it isnt really an issue. lovely historical pictures of the hotel was on the walls and in keeping with the hotel (nice touches). The pool changing room was spotlessly clean, as was the sauna ( we used Sunday am before breakfast) Breakfast was good- service effective and good choice of cereals and full English was lovely and enough. Had to wait a while for extra toast but to be expected at peak times!.... The big question we asked ourselves was would we stay here again? We both said yes without hesitation. Thank you Kilima!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oprah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in November 2012 and gave it a largely favourable review

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186346-d192672-r146746437-BEST_WESTERN_Kilima_Hotel-York_North_Yorkshire_England.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

having stayed again I feel I must revise the review. The staff are still friendly, the room was nice and spotless. As was the leisure centre but the pool was utterly freezing and unusable because of this.

The food was inedible I ordered steak, it was cooked as requested although the piece of meat itself was of such dreadful quality only 1/2 of it could be eaten, It also arrived smothered in what was billed as peppercorn sauce , which was more like gravy and had not a passing acquaintance with a peppercorn, the onion rings were so over cooked and i would say recooked so often they splintered and were inedible the mushrooms shrivelled old chewy .

The doors to the kitchens were left open and the unappetising smell of fryers which needed cleaning and the faint smell of cigarette smoke filled the air as did the sound of the staff laughing and joking, pity they didn't come and ask if the food was ok. The other diner in there just walked out half way through his dinner!

Still breakfast last time had been lovely---- not so, I ordered eggs poached they were out of the kitchen very quickly and were overdone, in addition they resembled fried eggs who had been run thorough hot water to convince me they were poached, the bacon was overcooked not crisp but chewey , an unappetising brown you could have tiled a roof with it, the sausage skin a little chewy but at least I managed to eat it, mushrooms well shrivelled old and chewy just like the ones with dinner --perhaps even the same ones! The toast was cold but i was starving. I got one small cup of coffee 9which was nice)then didnt see anyone to get me another one
Staying for two nights I did not even go to breakfast on morning two i chose to go hungry as it was a sunday morning

I will not be staying again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived about 2 hours early for check in and met Chris who was really friendly and helpful. Thankfully our room was ready and we checked in - staying in room 20 which was clean, spacious and warm.
We walked into the centre which took about 10 mins to the walls and about 5 mins or so after that. When we came back to the hotel we had a nice swim (had the pool all to ourselves) and time in the steam room - again the area was clean with towels for hotel guests.
This hotel is great for an out of town stay with free car parking, plenty of pubs nearby. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooke269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing