We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
170
147
107
74
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
170
147
107
74
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm cookies car park king room monk bar large tv birthday card hotel is perfect buffet style city centre nice bathroom per day shower head reception area lovely touch would stay again few minutes walk full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel
Really nice staff.
Excellent location.
Rooms really nice and decent amount of amenities in there.
On site parking is limited but car park about 3 mins away.
Good breakfast
Would recommend and will definitely stay again

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BirminghamFamilyWF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinBradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear BirminghamFamilyWF1

Thank you for posting a 5 star experience at the hotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, and would stay again.

Once again my sincere thanks, and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Doubletree for 2 nights, 17th -19th September. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting York, being within a stone's throw of the city walls, and a short walk to York minster. We found the hotel to be lovely and relaxed, and the staff were friendly, especially the evening bar staff (sorry, can't remember names). We ate in the restaurant one of the nights and food and service were good. Breakfast was also very tasty. We managed to navigate the one way system and found the hotel first time, very good driving instructions. Car park next to the hotel, next to a very convenient Sainsbury's, at £13 a night, cheaper than most hotels. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinBradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jan P,

Thank you for taking the time to post following your experience at the hotel. I was over the moon to read you felt it was a 5 star experience!

I am glad you found the hotel to offer a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere, and you found the restaurant food and service good.

We hope you would consider returning, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location was perfect. We stayed in a suite which was situated behind the main hotel (room 54). However it was very noisy due to no sound proofing. We also had to pay for off-site parking when many others did not. We will not be staying again.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kim2019l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinBradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kim2019l

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, following your stay at the hotel.

I appreciate and will look further into your comments relating to room 54. I am sorry if you were disturbed by noise.

I note your point relating to car parking. We charge for car parking both on and off site, and this is not something we include in our room price other than for guests with a valid blue disabled parking badge. This is carefully managed.

Once again, I thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I hope this would not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent only one night at the hotel but I’m really impressed with the service received.
Our room was upgraded for free, we have been allowed to park the car at the waiting bay - overnight and the following day. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast substantial.
The hotel is situated very close to the vibrant city centre but still away enough to enjoy peaceful night sleep.
Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinBradnam, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Judy M,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor and for categorising your stay as 5 stars.

I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, and would like to return.

Many thanks, and kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Currently staying at the double tree in York. Whilst we only have a small gripe with the service requesting extra pillows still waitng days later. Just had a rather dissapointing afternoon tea not what was advertised on Groupon. Staff inattentive and loud.ruined an otherwise pleasent day.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews