We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,361)
Filter reviews
3,361 results
Traveler rating
908
1,105
776
379
193
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
908
1,105
776
379
193
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clifford's tower two double beds car park excellent location castle museum central location reception staff breakfast was excellent stayed for one night short break valet shambles pubs minster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,361 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Hilton and was a beautiful place and polite staff. However the only disappointing thing was they tried charging us extra for no reason. I don't mean the service charge either, which is essentially a tip. I mean they added money to the bill and even they didn't understand why. We had to figure it out in front of them and they finally understood the issue. Lovely room and decent food and drink.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank wilbers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear wilbers89,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Hilton York.

Pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and found the team most polite and the hotel beautiful.
I am sorry to learn of the overcharging and pleased that the team resolved the issue with you before leaving. I have asked the Front Office Manager to look into this to avoid a reoccurrence and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Phil Mcpeake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

Nice hotel with great location - very central.
Food was nice both in the evening and for breakfast.
The lady behind the counter at breakfast was really cheerful and very chatty. Put a smile on everyone’s face!
Room was clean and fairly spacious.
Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank kellybM7548LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear kellybM7548LJ,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Hilton York.

Pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the food, especially at breakfast and with the cheerful breakfast chef, who certainly brightens everyone’s morning and I have shared this with the them.

Should your travels bring you back to the area we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Phil Mcpeake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Gave it a very good for the location. Great location for all tourist attractions. The room had 2 double beds in it, but it didn't feel big enough for a family of four. The bathroom wasn't a great size for us. The children really enjoyed the breakfast as it was a great selection for us. On the morning of the 17th of April we had a fire alarm at 6.30am. Not a great start to the day. We received a letter from the management explaining why the fire alarm went off which we really appreciated. This hotel is across from Clifford tower and York Castle museum.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank AHA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear AHA2008,
Many thanks for sharing your feedback on this site.
Happy to read that overall you had a good stay and found the location great for all the tourist attractions York has to offer and the breakfast good too.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Phil Mcpeake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Okay so the first night we stayed we were woken up in the morning by what we think was a fire alarm test which we weren’t warned about. The second night our final night we were woken at 6:30 AM and were evacuated out of the building over a false alarm... the beds are really hard and the rooms aren’t as nice as you’d expect for Hilton. Also could smell food being cooked throughout the night. Really wouldn’t recommend if you want a good nights sleep... Absolutely knackered.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank racbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear racbra,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Hilton York.

I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay. I would like to assure you that we welcome your feedback and as we are a learning organisation we appreciate all feedback and find it very valuable in moving forward and improving the service that we provide to our guests. I do apologise that the fire alarm activated and for any inconvenience this caused, however we take this most seriously and it is important to us that all guests are safe during their stay.

I am disappointed to read you would not return, but hope that you may reconsider so that we can show you we can do better.

Kind regards,

Phil Mcpeake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Stayed here on night in April and we chose this hotel due to its central location, all shops, bars, cafes etc all within walking distance. Train station is 15 min walk away and Red Number 7 bus to the designer outlet is just round the corner from the hotel. I did make the booking through the hotel and being a Hilton Honours member we did receive free parking and breakfast was also included in our booking. Check in was smooth and quick and we were given our room well before the normal allocated check in time. The room was clean but they are definitely showing signs of wear and tear, no air conditioning or fan option available so I can imagine in the summer time it will be very hot (windows do open slightly but all you can hear is the hustle and bustle of York so not a good idea to keep them open during the night as your try to sleep). WIFI was excellent and kept and constant signal on all the devices which we had logged in. Breakfast was excellent and offered plenty of choice (nice egg station and cooked in front of u fresh, lovely omelette, staff were helpful and pleasant. If I was staying in York again I would prob stay at the Hilton again but I have seen at times the price of the hotel can be expensive (£120+ per night) and its defo not worth this!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulwboonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear paulwboonw,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Pleased to read that you had a good stay and found the hotels location great for exploring York and its many attractions. Glad to hear the WIFI was excellent and also enjoyed our Hilton breakfast offerings with the many choices.

Should your travels bring you back to the area we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Phil Mcpeake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews