We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value if you book via last minute.com”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in York
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great value if you book via last minute.com”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I booked this through Last minute.com. When I booked it I didnt know it was going to be the Hilton because it was one of the "secret hotels". I was well chuffed. When we arived the guys in the car park, parked my car for me, nice touch. We checked in ok. The room was smaller than I was expecting, but it was adequate, clean and quiet. We went to the races in York, where I had a nice win on the first race, which covered the cost of the hotel and our evening meal in York that night. Breakfast was the usual Hilton fair, lots of it, and all good stuff. This is just a nice hotel, nothing special, very central and if you can book it through last minute.com, then go for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you found the room to be clean and the hotel to be nice.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    873
    635
    305
    146
See reviews for
557
1,224
71
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

For my Mum's 70th Birthday my brother arranged for both of us to stay at the Hilton, York for 2 nights. The location is absolutely superb and we were given a room overlooking Clifford's Tower. The room was very clean and very comfortable (not the biggest room in the world but very adequate). The breakfast was delicious and the staff in the restaurant very friendly. We were able to leave our bags at reception when we arrived at 11am on the Friday and the same when we left on the Sunday (reception also organised our taxi to the station). Had a problem with the swipe card for the door but eventually got the hang of it and also the small kettle in the room would only work when half full, but in all we found our stay absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnSkegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am delighted to note that you and your family enjoyed your recent special break stay with us, found the room to be lovely and the staff to be friendly.

As always, it a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We booked this as a special treat staying here for the first two nights of our honeymoon break.
Parking the car was chaos due to a large coach parked directly in front of car park entrance - the driver oblivious to everyone trying to get to carpark. Check in was very slow and the receptionist did not even smile once. I only used the lift once as I found it "smelly" and did not trust the way the doors opened. The room was basic and the bath had hairs in it. I also had to ask for a quilt cover to be changed as it had oil marks on it. Breakfast was standard fare and on both mornings, we ordered a tea and a coffe on both mornings but the coffee took a lot longer to reach the table. The location was fantastic and this is the only reason that we would recommend the hotel to our friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was sorry to read that you found the bed linen the have marks on it and the service at breakfast to be slow with regards to ordering your morning coffee. Whilst it is highly unusual for me to receive comments of this nature, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and the necessary corrective action, in the form of re-training in the importance of customer care and attention to detail, has been instigated to ensure that such experiences do not reoccur in future.

On a brighter note, I was delighted to note that you found the location of the hotel to be fantastic.

Once again, thank you for your comments. It is through such feedback that we can continue to improve the service that we offer.

I understand your reluctance to return to my hotel, however I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton York in the future, when I am certain we can show you that your experience is certainly not reflective of our usually high standards of service.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Hilton hotel is right in the middle of York. Its location is hard to beat. It is directly oppsite York castle with the Tower mound right in front of the hotel. The excellent Castle museum and the Viking museum are just minutes away, as is the centre of the city itself. The hotel itself is probably more attractive than the average Hilton and the service is very good. My tip is speak to the concierge - as well as recommending a couple of excellent restaurants (Bettys and The Blue Bicycle), he also recommended the Viking Walk, which was also excellent (we were a little disappointed with the Ghost Walk). The only downside is some of the rooms are not the best. We had two - one was fine but the other was tiny. Saying that, we easily arranged a room move.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and received excellent service from our concierge team and found the location of the hotel to be excellent.

As always, it a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We have just returned from a one night stay at the hilton in york and we have to say it is the best ever hotel we have stayed in within york and we have stayed in at least five other hotels in york.Although this might be one of the most expensive hotels in york it is worth every penny.The moment we checked in very friendly and even parked my car for me which I would of struggled with myself as parking urself would be quite hard.The room we booked was a double deluxe room which was amazin with a view of cliffords tower and lovely big bed.We went out and mentioned that would it be possible to change the wine in our room from red to white and where the other items we were meant to have that werent there.We arrived back to the room later that afternoon to find slippers bathrobes,big tray of fresh cut fruit, full size bottle of white wine that must of cost at least £26.00 as well as our original small bottle red wine and even a birthday card from then which first time I ever had one when staying away for my birthday.Later than night we went for a drink in the bar which is not cheap either but the barman we spoke to thomas i think his name was one of the best i have ever met,nothing was to much trouble for him anda real credit to the hotel,I hope the manager reads this review and passes our thanks to thomas for making my stay even better and appreciate how good he is.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatton_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be excellent.

It is a pleasure to receive such feedback. I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We have just returned from a stay at the hilton hotel at york for our wedding anniversary. It were an ecellent experience. We only paid for a double standard room. But on our arrival we was given a double deluxe room with a fab view of cliffords Tower. The room was very clean and staff were very helpful.
We would re-visit the hotel again.
Thankyou for making our anniversay speical.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger3Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your celebratory stay with us and that my team were able to make your stay extra special.

It is a pleasure to receive such feedback. I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We booked this hotel due to the Hilton name, excellent location and the price. After booking and reading some of the previos reviews we reserved judgement for our selves.
We arrive before check in to leave our bags and were dealt with by two receptionists, Tom and a trainee who were very friendly and accomodating. On return to check in the same guys completed check in with a lovely manner.
The hotel decor is what you would expect in a Hilton and the room clean and comfortable. We also had a fabulous view directly looking out onto Clifford's tower (with Geese)
We called in for a last drink in the hotel bar which was very quiet and served promptly.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious with a huge choice of hot and cold buffet.
Leaving the bags again the following day was not a problem and the staff offered to call us a txi when we returned. I do not know what the other reviewer's are complaining about. We had a lovely stay, will happily return and recommend to our friends.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I was pleased to learn that you received excellent service from our Reception team and enjoyed the breakfast.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing