We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, high spec rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
wallasey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, high spec rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Usual high standard of rooms. Has a car park , which is a plus for city centre, but expensive at £17.50 overnight! Helpful staff, particularly jolly breakfast room staff!good location and high forc rooms

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear denise c,

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor, in regard to your recent visit to the Hilton York.

I was delighted to learn you enjoyed our great central location and found my team jolly. I will be sharing your comments with them all.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    849
    618
    298
    142
See reviews for
538
1,188
70
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I booked the Hilton for a night in York with three friends - we got a taxi at the Station and asked for the Hilton, Tower Street. The driver said oh no - worst hotel in York. So I asked what the problem was with it. He said dirty, bad food, bad reviews. As we checked in I said we wouldn't pay until we left in case we were not happy. My friends and I inspected all the beds etc. Beautifully clean bedding and lovely fluffy white towels, bath mats and rubber slip mat. This place is spotless. After a dander around York we came back and had dinner at the hotel and it was delicious. The staff are very friendly and will do anything to help you. After a good nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast. There was juices, waters, fresh fruit, cereals, continental, breads, egg, bacon black pudding, fried bread, hash browns, tomato, beans. They would fry you an egg on request so it was fresh. We have decided that we will be going back to this hotel again in spring. I am not sure what the taxi drivers game was but he was so wrong. I can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhiaatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear RhiaatNewcastle,

Thank you for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor,

I am delighted to learn that you had lovely stay and were not disappointed. Also pleased to learn that my team were most helpful and friendly. I am very proud of them all as they work extremely hard and I will be sharing your comments with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very comfortable hotel, the staff were very polite and charming both in room service and restaurants. Car park a bit expensive but they do take care of your vehicle. No hesitation in staying there again. Paula Yates

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel in TripAdvisor.

I was glad to read you had a great stay, and thank you for commenting on my team and hotel.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind regards

Martin Bradnam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location inside the city walls, a stone's throw from Jorvik Centre. Big breakfast, good bedside reading lights, easy to operate shower, helpful staff. They look after your car for you, which is a big plus in York, and charged for it by the night, not by 24 hrs. The car came back to us in a couple of minutes when we were ready to leave York at 5pm having checked out that morning. We booked on a last minute deal which made it comparable with other York hotels; it would have been expensive otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was my second visit to York and I ended up opting for the Hilton. Yes, it lacks the soul and character of some establishments but with a nice deal I thought why not. I mean, it is absolutely brilliantly located. You fall out the door and the best of York is there, right inside the city walls. The check-in with friendly and they valet parked my car as there was no room in the main car park (it's small and the parking cost an eye watering £17 per day). There was no air con in the room and we boiled as we could not turn the heating down - they weren't that helpful with that problem. But the weekend breakfast was good and went on until 11am which is great if you want to chill out. I would definitely stay there again, it's the location that makes it for sure and the standard of room etc is very good. It did get a little noisy from a few people well oiled on the Friday night, but hey...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Myself and Partner visited York on Sunday the 17th November.

We arrived to a valet service which was nice and check in was quick and efficent, we also were offered a free room upgrade which consitied of a clifford tower view, complimentry wine and water, bathrobes and slippers. Room was clean, modern and very comfy.

We were slightly shocked at the prices for drinks in the bar (£9 for a large rose) but the bar it's self was really nice and relaxing and the staff were atentive.

Breakfast was brilliant, had everything you could want and if they didn't they would see if they could get it.

Location is amazing and if I go to york again I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in an odd number (view of cliffords tower) we had 321
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is playing on the Hilton name and charging a fortune for an average hotel. The rooms are ok, but there are no frills and the hotel has very few facilities other than a dining room, some function rooms and a very tiny extortionately priced bar!

The breakfast was good and the staff both in the dining room and on reception were very good, but there were long queues to check in and out.

The really annoying things were noisy, clicking heating pipes in the room which kept us awake all night, there were 3 booked in our room, but only towels and cups for 2, no biscuits in the room and the showers are very basic and the anti slip mats slippy!

Disappointing in general for the price!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Value_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing