We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 night break”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked hotel whilst attending York races - ideally situated for race course and train station. Great for York city centre. Hotel bright and clean with a welcoming atmosphere. ALL the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Unfortunately we experienced noise from the street outside till very late but it was the Ebor festival in York. Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    897
    662
    316
    149
See reviews for
579
1,279
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a girlie night out and the location is great, close to all of the bars and clubs. Check in was easy and valet parking is offered which is handy. The rooms were average, I have stayed in many Hilton hotels and I would say these rooms here were not up to the 'Hilton standard'.
The food was excellent on the evening. However there was a huge queue at breakfast at the buffet which meant the food you had put on your plate first was cold by the time you got through the queue.
Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location and close to all the sights, bars and restaurants. The breakfast was good and offered a wide selection of hot and cold food. The room offered a large bed which was comfortable and staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne &wear
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a party of 7 at the Hilton. It's location is good just near to the shops and bars but don't be swayed by this. This was a very disappointing stay here. When I think if Hilton hotels, I would usually think good quality. On this occasion that was far from the truth. With paint peeling from the walls at the window and a layer of dust over the tv and phone it did but give the best first impression. The shower was very poor with small unpowerful sprigs of water coming out. The room was red hot and the window could not be opened. We were provided with a fan however which was placed in a faulty plug socket..... very safe. 2 lamps did not work in the room either. Overall an un pleasant room. Not worth £89. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronneyroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location and close to all the sights, bars and restaurants. The breakfast was good and offered a wide selection of hot and cold food. The room offered a large bed which was comfortable and staff were very pleasant.

I had high expectations for this hotel due to the name and location but ended up leaving very let down.

Upon arrival I expected the valet service to be present and park your car immediately (as I was paying £17 for the one nights parking) but found no guidance other than an intercom on the wall. I was then told to park my car on the double yellow lines and hand my keys in upon checking in and it would be parked up later (let's hope Hilton pay for any fixed penalty tickets issued). I was not offered any assistance with my luggage and struggled into the foyer with my heavily pregnant wife.

Upon checking in we had to wait about twenty minutes as there was some confusion due to another guest having the same name. We were then given our room key and set off and set off with no direction from the staff.

The room itself was adequate but like the rest of the hotel outdated and in need of a revamp.

The bed was large and comfortable and the tv and furniture ok. There was no remote for the tv and after getting no reply on the guest services number on several attempts, I rang the front desk. 30 minutes later a member of staff arrived at the room with another remote. There were stains on the walls and carpets and hairs in the bath and sink which were very off putting. After cleaning the bathroom I took a shower to find there was no hot water (it was only ever luke warm for the rest of our stay). The water pressure was also terrible.

I opened the curtain to find that we had been out in a room which faced on what I can only describe as a building site, with another building approximately 20 metres away covered in scaffolding.

As we were staying for the one night we headed straight out. It is the little things that spoilt the trip such as empty pint glasses and alcohol bottles lying by the lifts at 4 pm in the afternoon.

All in all, loved York but the Hilton needs some serious attention to ensure people return. I stayed in a Novotel in Leeds the night before and it was half the price but twice the quality.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisClaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for a sight seeing holiday with the family, you could not fault location. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was good. Room looked a bit dated, but we coped for the time we spent there, overall a great location for a visit to york

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank shaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed as a family and found the location to walk about excellent. Upon checkin the first rooms they brought us to were small and had no air conditioning. If it was not so bloody hot during our stay that would have been fine- but it was brutally hot- so we asked for rooms with air and they did move us. So if it is hot you must ask about the air situation. Overall the rooms were good and clean as well as very comfortable. Breakfast was good. For a few nights it was fine. It didnt have much charm but a solid hotel. Only has free wifi in small lobby- so that is a bit of a pain

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Air if its summertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing