We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in York
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked last Saturday night as we had a Honors free room voucher and we were visiting the rail museum. The welcome from the staff was excellent and the room although at the back was fine. Despite being full with the racers the service was more than acceptable. The breakfast was excellent as I find in most Hilton Hotels. Dinner was acceptable only, because my warm shredded duck starter was cold and my wife's, as Monty Python says, was something completely different. We just assumed they had run out of the original so as an online supermarket does they gave us the nearest equivalent. She still enjoyed it but the fish and chips at a full price of over 15.00 would have been outrageous, we were on the offer three course of 14.50 so no complaints. However the location is great and we will come again.

Room Tip: I will try for a front room next time but beggars and all that kicked in this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Floman,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am pleased to read your review and glad you had an enjoyable weekend.

You comments regarding the meal have been noted and passed on to the Head Chef for his attention.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    861
    628
    303
    144
See reviews for
553
1,208
71
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in a family room because I had left it very late to book and everywhere was full due to the races. The room was on the first floor, was of a good size and had 2 double beds. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were on the soft side. The night we stayed was very hot and although we had a fan and had the window open, we could have done with air-conditioning. The tea and coffee provisions were of the usual type but not enough milk. There was also no fridge in the room although it appeared that there had been one there previously.
The recepton staff were very friendly and efficient. We parked our car in the hotel car park, it costs £17 for 24 hours but we were able to leave our car there until late afternoon when we left to return home. It's valet parking and the car park seems secure. (Parking in York is very expensive in the various car parks).
Breakfast was very nice apart from the tasteless black pudding. We didn't eat any other meals or have any drinks as they were far too expensive.
The hotel is handily situated overlooking Clifford's Castle and is only a short walk to the Shambles, Yorvik experience and the city centre. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammyk187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear pammyk187047

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel in TripAdvisor.

I was glad to read you had a great stay, and thank you for commenting on our breakfast and location.
I will be sharing your comments with my team as they serve as a great motivator.

Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind regards

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

the room on the back , overlooking a roof, but service and staff were great breakfast also was very good, fresh coffee and even for vegans possibility to have a good breakfast.they helped us at the reception , and check in and check out were more than easy,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Alegra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Alegra M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my team and the breakfast choices to be great.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the castle mound. Brilliant location less than two minutes to the centre. Staff on the whole very friendly. But then 8 of us went to the restaurant for a bar snack. After waiting for an hour and a quarter we complained to the duty restaurant manager and were given a list of excuses that were no concern of ours with no apology. However bar staff were excellent and duty manager deserves a mention. However restaurant drags down the scoring on this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forget_itelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Forget_itelaine,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton York.

I am delighted to read your review and pleased you enjoyed our hotel and our central location.
Your comments regarding your restaurant experience have been noted and passed on to the relevant Managers for their attention. I am pleased that you did find the Duty Manager and Bar team to be excellent and I will be sharing your comments with them all.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you all back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The front desk staff is friendly and the lady at the breakfast counter gives a wonderful warm friendly Yorkshire welcome. Also a lot of variety and plenty of food at breakfast. But other than that it's quite disappointing. The room was very smelly when I entered. The carpet was musty. No in-room fridge or cold refreshments. The video choice was poor and overpriced and catered more for the adult market. The beds were second rate. Many B&Bs in town are better. Also seemed to be chronically understaffed -takes ages to answer the phone and the room service menu is short on choice and heavy on pocket. Also there's a charge for the WiFi unlike many other York hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear hummusafir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website.

I was most concerned to read your review regarding the areas our services failed to deliver to your expectations, whilst I would not like to make any excuses, I would like to assure you that your experience is certainly not reflective of our normally high standard of service.

However I am pleased you were welcomed in a friendly manner and received a great Yorkshire welcome from our Breakfast chef, which I will be sharing your comments with.

Should your travels bring you back to the area I hope you will consider staying with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these York hotels

lisbon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Hotel has a good location, but needs improvements. No internet, (wi FI), rooms have no air conditioning. Lobby quite poor!
It doesnt look like a Hilton brand!
Breakfast, the good thing was the lady cooking eggs!!
Coffee soso, orange juice, (artifial)
Location good, restaurante in house quite poor.
Rooms and bath room needs improvements!
Location is good if you are staying in the city!
Would notgo back . (expensive compared with waht you get )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyinlisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear cindyinlsibon,

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments have been noted and will prove most valuable when we come to review our products and services.

On a brighter note I am pleased that you did enjoy our central location and our Breakfast chef.

Thank you again for taking the time to place your feedback on line.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location in city centre close to all bars and restaurants, noise level was very low, a fantastic night out. The Hilton staff were extremely nice and room was very clean, beds are 100% comfy! Only down side is no free Wi-Fi in rooms only in the bar area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Jonathon S,

Thank you for posting feedback onto TripAdvisor, following your stay at the Hilton York.

I am pleased you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our great location.

I look forward to welcoming you back in to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing