We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Quality, good location, friendly staff”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed November 20, 2012

When you book a room at a Hilton you expect a certain level of quality, and this is indeed present here - the hotel is easy to walk to from the station, and inside everything is just as one would expect from a contemporary Hilton. Value for money is pretty good too, I would come back here again, solo or with the family on a points break.

Room Tip: It's all about the status...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website.

I was delighted to read your feedback and am pleased that you found your stay to be good value for money and received great service from my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,220 - 2,226 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

A one night stay at the Hilton, found to be central to everything room was very comfortable and service excellent. Buffet breakfast set you up for the day.On site car parking with valet service is available at £17 a night
The only down fall was the noisy central heating that work me early in the morning, but on the whole a very nice stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabberBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton York and found the room comfortable and received excellent service and your comments have been shared with the whole team.

I have noted your feedback regarding the central heating and have asked my Maintenance Manager to investigate this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York very soon.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay . Good standard of accommodation although bathroom was small.
Staff were very friendly , excellent breakfast. Central location , noisy in early hours .

Shame they add £17 for overnight parking
£6 a day wi fi
£3.25 for a bottle of water.

Otherwise a great hotel in a good location , thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found my team to be most friendly and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast. We are very fortunate to be in such a central location within easy walking distance to all the main attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location! Clean and tidy rooms and helpful friendly staff with a great breakfast. Shame about the £3.95 bottle of the water in the room- robbery, Hilton or not! Round corner from all major sights and good pubs and restaurants on standby. Ask restaurant was lovely.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and found the rooms to be clean and tidy and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast. Your comments will be shared with the whole team as they serve as a great motivator.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton York in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nick Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the past 18 months and just LOVE the Hilton.
The staff are very good and respond immediately to any request,rooms are beautiful,very comfy.
The hotel is near enough to walk to most of the main attractions,which is great for someone with mobility issues like myself.
No probs with parking,which is a huge bonus,restaurant serves lovely,fresh food.
Absolutely spotless too.
Cant wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a little noisy when rubbish collection and deliveries are being made. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

reception staff were brilliant.friendly and always smiling...good room allocated at end of corridor not much passing traffic so quiet. room as expected clean and comfy beds and pillows but watch the edge of the wooden frame to the bed...knocked my knee 3 times.!!!! good choice at breakfast overall a good hotel. bit expensive for the one night but I suppose for the location you have to expect to pay that bit more. would definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: stayed in room 136 end of corridor down a couple of steps . room overlooking small car park bit of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked to see Al Murray at the Grand Opera House and then booked this hotel, which is just around the corner. The valet took our car on the Saturday and we didn't see it again until the Tuesday !! as everything was within easy walking distance. The staff were all very friendly and plenty of choice at breakfast. The warm bottle of water in the room priced at £3.95 was the only negative about our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnG621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $119 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing