We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUXURIOUS QUIET HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LUXURIOUS QUIET HOTEL”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had an excellent visit to Middlethorpe this week. Our accommodation was absolutely perfect and could not have been more comfortable.Our room was tastefully furnished with antique furniture and was immaculately clean. We certainly enjoyed walking in the beautiful gardens and admired the flowers which have been tended with care. The Spa is restful with first class staff. We shall definitely return to Middlethorpe .
M & N

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalala047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    221
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
209
743
55
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Although this hotel is a couple of miles outside of the Walls of York, it is a great place to stay while visiting the city. It is "old school" all the way, and you really feel like you have stepped back into a more graceful time. Everyone seems happy to be working there, and therefore the service is excellent. The dining room is a little pricey for dinner, but it really is outstanding. There are acres of gardens to enjoy, and a very good spa on site.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

It is a refreshing and relaxing 'step back in time' to come to an Historic House Hotel. (I say the same about its sister hotel Hartwell House & Spa near Aylesbury, but I cannot comment on the third hotel in the group, Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, North Wales, as I have not visited recently).

The pace of life slowed and we were cocooned in beautiful surroundings - authentic restored decorations and antiques inside and varied gardens with rolling parkland outside - as befits a National Trust property.

The staff were discreet, pleasant and helpful, the food delicious and the Spa with swimming pool enticing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CameronLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed here only for one night in a Single Room (with very comfortable double bed) in the Courtyard and really enjoyed my stay. I thought it was great value for money as I had the special deal of £125 which included the evening meal and breakfast as well as the use of the spa. My experience from booking the room to being greeted on arrival was very good and the room was quite small but fine for what I needed for one night. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as a large complimentary bottle of water.

One slight niggle was the fact I had to phone up and pay for internet usage as I was there on business, but once given the code, the access was fast and reliable with no hitches.

I did use the swimming pool, sauna, steamroom etc... across the road and had the place to myself which was perfect for unwinding after a busy day in meetings.

Dinner was fabulous though I have to say was very 'pretty' without there being too much on the plate as many expensive restaurants are. Could have done with a bit more on the plate as it was so tasty! The food is very expensive if purchased outside of the deal but was delicious so worth it for a special occasion.

I do agree with a couple of other reviews that mentioned the dining room lacking a bit of atmosphere - a little bit of classical music in the background would have been perfect rather than absolute silent and other diners whispering to each other across the tables. Perhaps I noticed this more as I was dining alone but if people spoke at normal volume, the whole restaurant seemed to hear!

The staff I spoke with were all extremely courteous and seemed happy to be working there. Breakfast was lovely and there was a good selection for the 'continental' choice and although the full English was extra, it did look very tasty.

All in all, I really enjoyed the stay and would love to go back again - particularly to stay for one of the entertainment nights they host on the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just back from a 3 night stay as a small group of ( German and very critical ) friends.
Our overall impression was that it was a very classy place - good service - peace and tranquility abound - a place to relax and unwind. We slept in the superior rooms in the courtyard which overlook and enjoy the scents from the beautiful gardens. Comfortable with good beds, slightly lacking in cupboard space.
The huge lawn at the back of the very impressive main house is a wonderfully sleepy place - like stepping into a Bronty novel or the 18th century - a perfect setting to have one´s afternoon tea.
The spa ( 10 short steps across the road) was very fine - an excellent pool, very clean, at a perfect temperature and very accomodating opening hours. I have been annoyed at many such establishments not opening until 9.00 - here it was 7.30 and ideal for a swim before breakfast.
The "continental" breakfast was somewhat sparse. Having lived and traveeled on the continent for 25 years I am qualified to say that mere cereals, fresh fruit salad, toast and jams out of a jar do not quantify a continental breakfast. This needs improvement. However the dinner was very good, if somewhat pricey.
I was slightly surprised to see no dress requirements for dinner in such imposing surroundings. I for one am all in favour of such and hope the old ways are not dying out.
Give the place a try - you should love it !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were recently at Middlethorpe Hall for a two-day break to get away from our busy lives in London. We could not have chosen a better place for doing exactly that. The hotel is beautiful; elegant, but unpretentious. Our four-poster bedroom overlooking the stunning grounds was exquisite. We made full use of the hotel; I had a facial and manicure and my boyfriend, who loves his treatments (!) had a massage and a facial. We used to the gym, which is small but perfectly formed, and the swimming pool. As we are both in training for a triathlon, we were grateful that the pool was a childfree area at certain times of the day! We had breakfast in bed (what is a break without breakfast in bed!) and lunch at the hotel, which was very good quality, but we didn’t have dinner at the hotel, as we preferred to sample the restaurants in York. The staff at Middlethorpe are all very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend Middlethorpe wholeheartedly; we had such a relaxing time. We will definitely be back when we need to ‘get away from it all’ again; I have a feeling that will be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Middlethorpe Hall. The accommodation, service and ambience were perfect for us and the food was outstanding - well worth the trip alone. We also did make good use of the swimming pool and enjoyed our walks around the wonderful gardens.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit yourselves or another Historic House Hotel in the near future - but have already recommended the Middlethorpe Hall unreservedly to friends and family.

Thank you and your staff for making our stay so delightful!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockwood1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Property: Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing