We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveler rating
1,102
257
64
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,102
257
64
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacountry housestately homepublic roomson arrivalsteam roomrelaxing breakyorkshire breakfastroad noisewonderful hotelyork racecoursebirthday treatbeautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We'd planned a short break in York and chose to stay outside the city in a quiet, spa hotel.

We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms which was very comfortable, decoration a little chintzy for our taste but in keeping with the style of the hotel. Couple of negatives: TV signal was hit and miss. In the bathroom the shower screen was fixed to the bath so we got a cold blast of water while turning on the shower. No tea & coffee in the room but you can order a tea tray if you want it. Bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but did have drinks and a game of chess in the drawing room. Service for us was good with canapes and snacks served with our drinks. Breakfast was served quickly and good portions!

The village is just a short drive away with at least three pubs so if you don't want to eat at the hotel there are other options.

We used the spa facilities - pool was a bit cool but Jacuzzi and steam room were good. Not many people around while we were there and not much seating, so that may be a problem when it's busier. We had booked treatments and they were fabulous.

All of the staff in the hotel and spa were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZweiDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

My wife and I and two friends spent two nights on a Dinner B&B basis. We had a very warm and friendly greeting on arrival and our rooms in the Main Hotel were comfortable and well furnished. My wife is allergic to feather pillows and these were replaced without any hesitation.
The per prandial drinks and canapés were served in the lounge and the service was efficient and friendly, as was the service in the Dining Room.
We had a very pleasant stay and were made to feel very welcome and relaxed in a Country House environment.
Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the Main Hotel and were very satisfied. Nice views of the grounds and surrounding area from second floor.m
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 707dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a short stay in the York area and booked Middlethorpe Hall on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis.

Check-in was quick and efficient and we were shown to our accommodation which was a 70 yard walk from the main hotel. Lovely cosy sitting room with open coal effect gas fire and comfortable furniture. Main bedroom, small second bedroom, kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities, sink and refrigerator. Small bathroom with hardly enough space to place toiletries, etc. Great shower but you get a cold water shower trying to adjust the water temperature at outset.

Care needed over the steps between the landing and sitting room and bedroom - especially if you want to get up to use the loo in the night. Overall though very comfortable excellent accomodation.

Short walk to main hotel OK if weather fine.

Spa. Have seen better. Small slightly chilly pool, not much seating and cosy steam room maximum 4/6 people if you know them well. Changing facilities basic. Not sure why anyone would pay to be a member. Only used once as not what we have been used to at other places.

Pre-dinner drinks in the bar. Could be difficult to find somewhere private to sit for two people. First night we went down at 7:30 for a drink with meal booked for 8:00. By the time our drinks arrived we still had most of them left by the time we were called in for dinner. On the second night we went to the bar at 7:00, for 8:00 dinner. After 20 minutes wait we still hadn't ordered so had to catch the eye of the manager to get that rectified.

The bar staff are excellent but we felt that they were short staffed which caused some issues. Tables were not cleared immediately someone left and it could take a while to order and get served. Evening 3 perfect.

Food was excellent as was the service in the restaurant. We would like to specially mention Roxanne who served us on each evening who is a credit to a hotel that has only excellent staff.

We felt that we would not want to stay more than 3/4 nights due to the number of dishes available on the menu.

Breakfast service was generally good but you had sometimes to ask for the water jug to be refilled when empty. It is these little things that need attention to make an excellent hotel faultless. Food at breakfast good although over cooked eggs did arrive on one morning.

Checkout was smooth and efficient.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nedlop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

My wife and I were given gift vouchers to stay here for a long weekend. This is not the cheapest of hotels but Is well worth the expense. The main house was built in 1699 as a gentleman's country residence standing in 20 acres of landscaped gardens and meadows. Although it has had a chequered existence, the house has been very tastefully and sympathetically restored for use as a first class hotel, but one must take into account the physical limitations of the building.
Staying here is on par with an imaginary visit to Downton Abbey. Guests are met at the door and immediately made to feel welcome, just as if they are personal guests of the owner of a country house. All the rooms, including the bedrooms, reflect the look and feel of a country house, so if you are expecting a modern clinical looking bedroom you will be disappointed. How many modern hotels still offer a 'turn down' service?
All the staff that we had contact with were extremely pleasant, courteous, and eager to please. Although there is no bar area, drinks are served by a waiter on request in one of the drawing rooms. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the wine list is extensive. The gardens are well maintained and offer several arbours in which you can sit, relax and ponder on the meaning of life.
There is a spa on site, but it is not in the main building. We did not however make use of this.
The hotel is ideally situated to explore York and there is a bus service into the city centre which runs every 30 mins from the bus stop at the main road, which is about 50 metres from the hotel.
My only criticism is that the bathrooms, although offering full facilities, are very small and there is not room for two people at the same time. However the structure and size of the bedrooms mean that it would be impossible to enlarge the bathroom without destroying the layout and character of the bedrooms.
I would imagine that, due to it's proximity to the race course the hotel cam be very busy, but at other times it appears to be a peaceful haven.
Well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms in the main house involve climbing a number of stairs. The stable block rooms are on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

I treated my boyfriend to an overnight stay in the beautiful city of York. I booked into this stunning hotel and it met every need we had, the spa situated in a separate building was hosted by the most loveliest of women who have magical hands. We stayed in an annex just next to the main hotel which I imagine used to be stables or servants quarters, our room was just perfect, so pretty and quiet, we was not disappointed. We had breakfast in bed which was delicious. Tea was brought to our room quite a few times - as we love our tea!- and it was presented beautifully. The main house and grounds were divine and Edward who checked us in was so pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for him, he spent time recommending places to drink and eat in york, Damian who carried our luggage and showed us around was extremely helpful and very lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed. I only wish we could of stayed longer. We will be returning. Thankyou Middlethorpe Hall

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank daniellesuzannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews