We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXcellent Hotel & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Looked after completely and absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,306)
There are newer reviews for Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,306 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

Lovely hotel, staff are excellent. Real human touch and attention to detail. Great location for York. Beautiful rooms. Tip: if you want away from traffic noise ask for room at the back or a cottage room.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
Thank jojo123Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Middlethorpe Hall, just outside of York, England is a magnificent find. It is exactly what one would expect of a 18th century manor house-turned-hotel. Stunningly beautiful, appointed with furniture appropriate to such a distinguished building, the grounds were immaculately kept, and above all, the staff was 5-star.
We stayed in a carriage house converted to rooms. It was beautiful and roomy and quite comfortable. The bathroom was small compared to many we've seen in a hotel, but it was not cramped.
The hotel garden and park was fantastic. And it is a working garden as well. Fruit and vegetables grown there are used in the restaurant. Walking behind the hotel is beautiful and relaxing.
The only small negative is that the hotel is located near a motorway and so there is quite a bit of road noise outside on the grounds.
But the the best experience of our short stay however was the raspberry souffle. It was heavenly!
If you like to lounge around in a beautiful setting, being waited on by attentive staff, in affordable luxury, then a visit to Middlethorpe Hall is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiberalCat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We arrived at Middlethorpe Hotel for our one night stay to find that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a de-luxe suite in the Courtyard. Room 26 was beautiful with its large sitting room, bedrom and two bathrooms. The food was excellent and the service faultless. The only comment is that it would have been nice to have had tea/coffee making facilities in the room but having said that our morning tea was delivered right on time and with fresh milk !
Will certainly revisit MIddlethorpe Hall when we next take a trip to York

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCountryGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We wanted to visit York and after a quick search on Tripadvisor decided that Middlethorpe Hall was worth a try. Got a really good rate via Tripadvisor for the standard room but found on arrival that we had been upgraded to a cottage suite. We thought this was fantastic but our neighbours had enjoyed the races too much and the noise was unbearable, No problem, a quick trip to reception and another free upgrade later we were in a garden courtyard suite. The rooms are very nice and clean and the suites have plenty of room. York is a plesent 30mins walk along the river so the hotel is ideally situated. The spa is relaxing and had everything that you would need, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna and pool and is set in a pair of converted semi cottages. We did not eat in the restraunt in the evenings so cannot comment on the food, however be warned if you do want to eat in the evenings the dress code is very much smart. Breakfast is good (although you need to note that only continental is included, there is a charge for full english) and the main waitress is very helpfull and amiable. All in all a very good couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Dear Mr Chatard,

Many thanks for the upgrade and for making our stay at Middlethorpe Hall for our first wedding anniversary so enjoyable. Once again your staff gave us a first class service and are a credit to you and the hotel.

We are looking forward to our next visit to Middlethorpe Hall Hotel,

Yours sincerely

Kevin and Liz O'Sullivan

This is a copy of the email that I sent to Middlethorpe Hall Hotel after our 1st wedding anniversary return to the hotel.
If it is relaxed class that you are looking for then this is the place.
We stayed in the garden cottage because our dog was allowed to stay with us and then went to the main house for our meals. Hope we can afford to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearakev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. When we arrived we were upgraded to a lovely large room with spacious bathroom.
However, the room was at the front of the hotel and the road to the side was very noisy with traffic zooming up and down from 6.00am onwards. A room at the back or in one of the courtyard rooms would probably be more restful.

Service and helpfulness was superb though as was dinner in t he evening.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,329 reviews
1.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $150 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing